Can someone with 09 MP rip a movie with Handbrake and share results?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by OddThomas, Mar 16, 2009.

  1. OddThomas macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #1
    I have seen lots of benchmarks and such, but can one of you lucky folks with a nice new machine rip a DVD with Handbrake and post the time and what movie you ripped, etc.. so i can compare it with my 2008MP 2.8 machine. Would also be cool if you then converted it to iPhone format and give the time for that as well. thanks.
     
  2. wayne226 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #2
    I used the film borat 6.67gb.
    First run was with apple tv, standard settings. time 22 mins ,average 86 fps.

    Next run was with standard iphone preset ,time 12 mins average 144.9 fps.
    The iphone preset was only using between 550/600% cpu.
    the apple tv prest used between 650/750% cpu
    both encodes were from dvd on hard drive

    mac pro 2009, 266 quad,8gb ram

    hope this helps
    http://att.macrumors.com/attachment...nt.php?attachmentid=162765&stc=1&d=1237302498
     

    Attached Files:

  3. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
  4. Abidubi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal
    #4
    You obviously haven't used a Mac Pro or Powermac since 2001, or an iMac since 2005.

    1 CPU is 100%
     
  5. OddThomas thread starter macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #5
    yes 1 cpu=100%. i often get 600-700% processor util with Handbrake.

    22 minutes is fast. the best i have done with any movie is 30 - 45ish minutes. Unfortunately, I don't have the fine film that you selected to convert to test for comparison. thanks for the test. Do you have:

    The Bourne ultimatum
    Charlies angels - full throttle
    any of the Pirates movies
    The Hulk (newer one)
    ID4
    Incredibles
    just about any other kids animated movie. ??
     
  6. wayne226 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #6
    ok im back,
    I done shrek, 22 mins on apple tv preset and 13 mins on ipod touch/iphone.
    please let us know your results when done

    wayne
     
  7. OddThomas thread starter macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #7
    excellent. the first one? i will try that tonight.
     
  8. RemarkabLee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #8
    What version of Handbrake is that your using?

    Mine looks a little different to yours and I believe I have the latest version...

    [​IMG]
     
  9. MasterNile macrumors 65816

    MasterNile

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #9
    I believe you're both using the same version but wayne hasn't updated his presets, he's still using the old presets.
     
  10. fluidedge macrumors 65816

    fluidedge

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #10
    how do these compare to the last batch of 08 MPs?
     
  11. Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #11
    Has anyone tried the latest Apple TV pre-set on an 8-Core 2.26GHz? I'd like to get an idea of any improvement over a Quad and how many times faster it would be compared to my dual G5 :)
     
  12. RemarkabLee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #12
    Possibly, but his screenshot shows an 'insert iPod Atom' option which I don't have... :confused:
     
  13. MasterNile macrumors 65816

    MasterNile

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #13
    Ah I see, didn't look close enough, I believe he's running the older version of handbrake, iPod 5G support does the same thing as 'insert iPod Atom' I believe.
     
  14. RemarkabLee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #14
    Okay thanks.

    I'm just wondering if Wayne could try an updated version of Handbrake to see if that improves things even more? Perhaps a more recent version has a more optimised version of x264 for the Nehalem?
     
  15. OddThomas thread starter macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #15
    My 2.8 Octo took 25 minutes to convert to Apple Tv. i will convert to ipodtouch/iphone now.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. LeoFio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #16
    wow, better than the 12+ hours it takes on my PB....haha
     
  17. wheezy macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #17
    That's where I started, a G4 just wasn't built for H.264 (obviously, as H.264 came out during the G5 era). My 12" 1Ghz G4 was reliable, but sloooooow at handbraking.
     
  18. wheezy macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #18
    Make sure you're both ripping from DVD, or from the HD, that makes a big difference in speed and I'm not sure if you both set that or not.
     
  19. OddThomas thread starter macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #19
    ripping from DVD, but of course the convert to iphone format i am doing from the .m4v on HD. is 70% done... about 9 minutes.

    convert to iphone:
    [20:51:41] starting job
    [21:03:17] macgui: incrementQueueItemDone the 1 item queue is complete

    about 11min 36sec.. math could be off a little.
     
  20. OddThomas thread starter macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #20
    that is just scary.. who can wait 1/2 a day to convert a dvd.. then what if something goes wrong... gaahhhhh!! you must be a very patient person.
     
  21. wayne226 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #21
    I was using the previous version of handbrake 0.9.2 i will try the latest and get back to you.
     
  22. MasterNile macrumors 65816

    MasterNile

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #22
    Which is faster?
     
  23. wayne226 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #23

    Attached Files:

  24. Jouhne macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #24
    I've used the same presets as you on my Quad 2,66 (2006)... one hour (from DVD)
     

    Attached Files:

  25. OddThomas thread starter macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #25
    So, the happy conclusion to this exercise is; the $2500 Quad is about equal (to a bit faster) to the $2800 Octo 2.8 (2008) when converting video.. that is great news and i really think the way to go on the 2009s is to max out the QUAD. It is certainly less expensive given how much a 2.93 Octo MP09 cost.
     

Share This Page