Can the MacBook Air 2014 Game well with the following games?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by lightuser333, Oct 14, 2014.

  1. lightuser333 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    #1
    So I decided I wanted a mac,( I was switching from windows). I am still in high school So I want a light computer... This brought me to the mac book air. I am not a heavy gamer I play games like (mainly)cod4, black ops1, and minecraft. Could you please tell me what the performances are with these games from your person experiences?? It doesnt have to be the highest quality either. I am planning on getting the mac book air 2014 with 4 gb of ram, 13inch 128 ssd drive and i5 processor.

    Thanks!
     
  2. meme1255 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    #2
    Minecraft and CoD 4 playable on MBA 2012 i5 Ivy Bridge 1,7 GHz, 4GB RAM, 128 GB - So it'll be playable on 2014, too. :) But I'd buy version with 8 GB of RAM :)
     
  3. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  4. lightuser333 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
  5. joshlalonde macrumors 6502

    joshlalonde

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    2014 MacBook Air here.

    Running Minecraft with top quality, runs from 40-60fps constantly, sometimes higher.

    Skyrim (in wineskin) is playable on low quality.

    League of Legends runs great too.
     
  6. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #6

    U have optifine with minecraft?
     
  7. Cooee! macrumors member

    Cooee!

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    #7
    I recommend getting 256 GB SSD than 8 GB RAM. But otherwise the 2014 MBA plays most games at low-medium settings.
     
  8. joshlalonde macrumors 6502

    joshlalonde

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    No.
    But when I did have it installed, it ran slightly better.
     
  9. markusbeutel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    #9
    It won't game on highest settings or anything (except for Minecraft), low to medium if you tweak settings though provided you have 8gb of ram. Wouldn't recommended 4gb of ram though...
     

Share This Page