Can you buy the iPhone 4 in US and use it anywhere?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by carrollf, Jun 11, 2010.

  1. carrollf macrumors regular

    carrollf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    Sorry if this has been covered.

    I live in Ireland and am travelling to the US on June 27th. Will I be able to buy the iPhone 4 (contract free for $700???) and bring it back to Ireland to use here? Will there be any issues with activation and/or usage here? I presume there are no region restrictions built into it?
     
  2. LimeyBastard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #2
    Won't the wall charger be different? Aren't you 3 prong like Britain?
     
  3. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #3
    it might be contract-free, but it's still carrier-locked to at&t.
     
  4. carrollf thread starter macrumors regular

    carrollf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    Good point! never thought that it would still be carrier locked!! No way around this I guess until an unlock gets released??
     
  5. dieburnbot macrumors 6502a

    dieburnbot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #5
    You could wait until July when the iPhones are released in Hong Kong and **** and then import it from there. They won't be carrier locked, but will probably cost a pretty penny.
     
  6. Cod3rror macrumors 68000

    Cod3rror

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #6
    What control freaks Apple are, you pay $700 and they still want to tell you what you can and can't do with it.
     
  7. TZRaceR6 Guest

    TZRaceR6

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Traveling from the UK to US and using 02 service, automatically changes to AT&T as soon as I step off the plane. However, I'm still being charged 02 rates. STick to just wifi and you will be good.

    Or get a contract with them with bogus info and just leave the country with your phone. What are they gonna do? Nothing. Soo as an unlock code shows up you're golden.
     
  8. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #8
    They check IDs when you get a contract. If you try to fool them with bogus info you could get the spooks on your tail.
     
  9. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #9
    You won't be able to start a contract without a social security number.
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    And a US based credit card.
     
  11. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #11
    No. The US (ATT) phone is locked. Yes, even if you go "no contract." They only way you would be able to use it in Ireland is to use ATT's Int'l data plan, which would be ridiculous for a native, or to jailbreak and unlock, which is kind of a pain, especially when you need warranty service and need to unjailbreak.
     
  12. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    You can get a contract without SSN if you are willing to put down a $500-$1000 deposit.
     

Share This Page