Can you get iTunes to recognize your iPhone in DFU mode since Mac OS 10.5.6?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by TheSpaz, Dec 15, 2008.

?

Can you get iTunes to recognize your iPhone in DFU mode since upgrading to 10.5.6?

  1. Yes, DFU mode still works as expected.

    5 vote(s)
    27.8%
  2. No, iTunes refuses to see my iPhone in DFU mode.

    13 vote(s)
    72.2%
  1. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #1
    This thread is for Mac OS X Leopard users and iPhone owners.

    Since you upgraded to 10.5.6, have you been able to put your iPhone into DFU mode and still have iTunes recognize it? I heard on TUAW today that DFU mode no longer works with 10.5.6, but since I've upgraded to 10.5.6, I've QuickPwned a first gen iPhone with DFU mode and an iPod touch in DFU mode.

    So my answer is: Yes, DFU mode still works for me in 10.5.6. I have not tried the iPhone 3G yet. I'd like to get the communities findings on this one because I'm curious as to why DFU mode still works for me when TUAW says it won't.

    Here's the article. Thank you.
     
  2. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #2
    I figured out a fix! Don't plug it directly into the computer's USB port to put your iPhone into DFU. Plug it into a hub. I had mine plugged into my Apple Cinema Display... that's why it was able to work! Plug it into a Keyboard, a Display or a powered USB hub and it should go into DFU mode just fine. Sweet. Crisis averted!
     
  3. hellomoto4 macrumors 6502a

    hellomoto4

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    We'll I'm on a Unibody Macbook so it didn't find it in 10.5.5. Will report later on 10.5.6
     
  4. doobi18 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    Please try with a hub/keyboard on 10.5.5 - I am very interested to see if that worls for you.
     
  5. bradenwh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #5
    This fix has been around for quite some time.
     
  6. jgunn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #6
    works for me through a hub. They have adjusted the firmware for the USB ports I believe. Sneaky apple.
     
  7. hellomoto4 macrumors 6502a

    hellomoto4

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
  8. ex8886 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    #8
    Hm... so is 10.5.6 really worth upgrading to? Since my PowerBook G4 works just fine on 10.5.5, and I want the ability to use DFU mode (don't have USB hub, and am not planning on buying one). So far I'm not seeing any advantages to upgrading . . . what do you guys think?
     
  9. svndmvn Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
    #9
    Why are people so unhappy with 10.5.6? DFU and random wifi problems? Anything else?
    There was a solution to the DFU problem regarding the new Unibody Macbooks (Pros and Airs rev 2 as well), search it on this forum, it might work, I believe you have to modify a kext file or just look for one from older "outdated" macs.
     
  10. hellomoto4 macrumors 6502a

    hellomoto4

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Only if you think you really need to, you can always buy a hub for $3.50 on ebay
     
  11. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #11
    That's not a fix, that's a work around. :)
     
  12. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #12
    Tomatoes - Tuhmahtoes, the whole jailbreak thingy is a work-around; it fricken' works...:p
     
  13. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #13
    From another thread:

    I just did it... but, I'm not at home to check to see if it worked. (I did it over VNC)
     
  14. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #14
    Does anyone get this dialog box when they enter DFU mode?

    I connected my phone to my Apple USB keyboard and still iTunes doesn't seem to recognise the phone...it thinks its an iPod
     

    Attached Files:

  15. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #15
    I don't think the Apple USB keyboard is going to give you enough power. You should connect it to a powered HUB or perform the mod I posted from someone else in another thread.
     
  16. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #16
    I'd follow it but i dont have another macbook to get the files from. Sigh...looks like a reinstall for me then
     
  17. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #17
    No it's not. It's a tool to circumvent Apple's way of doing things. :)

    The USB hub "fix" is like having an oil leak in your car, adding more oil and saying that you "fixed it". :)

    A fix for this would be so that I wouldn't need to carry a USB hub with me, I could still just use my normal USB ports.
     
  18. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #18
    If I had your email address... I'd send you the file.
     
  19. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #19
    PMd you the address
     
  20. juneholiday, Feb 5, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2015

    juneholiday macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    #20

Share This Page