Can you set up an old Airport Express (G) with wifi disabled?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by irishv, Jan 5, 2016.

  1. irishv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #1
    I'm looking to use a couple Airport Expresses for Airplay on a multizone audio system. Can you just connect them to a Airport Extreme via ethernet and disable wifi? I'd like the rest of the network to keep running at AC speeds.
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    I've used the second generation (802.11n) version to do exactly this, and it worked fine. I would have to imagine that the g model works similarly.
     
  3. adam9c1 macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #3
    I purchased a used Airport Express. Via Airport Utility reset to default and then turned off WiFi.
    It shows up as a AirPlay destination on my phone.

    (I'm using Airport Extreme as my router with wifi off as well, and setup a time capsule as extension with WiFi off too)

    What I am not sure is if you can push the signal to multiple AirPlay destinations. I saw something about it years back, not sure if this still works.
     
  4. irishv thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #4
    Perfect, thanks. You cannot push directly to multiple AirPlay destinations from iOS (unless that changed recently), but you can from iTunes (or from the Synology DS apps, which I'm planning to use). I'm looking at using this amp (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003DKVZHQ/) to drive 4 zones with 4 separate Airport Expresses.
     
  5. Macschrauber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #5
    I would avoid the very first A108x Airport Express. They tend to fail with broken Power supplies. Also they need older versions of the airport utility for configuration. A1264 and of course the flat one are ok.
     
  6. adam9c1 macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #6
    Were the round space ufo express too?

    I have the basic one rectangular white, referred it as 1st gen as that's what the seller called it.
     
  7. LiveM macrumors 6502a

    LiveM

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #7
    Not sure about the g model, but Client Mode is intended to do what you are wanting. No need to use ethernet - and anyway, you aren't affecting ac mode by using Wi-Fi on in your Express since it has been joined by ethernet while not in client mode.
     
  8. Macschrauber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #8
    If you want the express just as an ethernet to digital or analog music output interface you can use any version. Once configurated as listen by DHCP you dont need to further touch the device.

    More to learn:

    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/AirPort_Express
     
  9. NorCalLights macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    #10
    I have an old G Express... and I use it wired like you're wanting to do.

    2 observations:
    1) It's slower than my N Express... takes longer to wake up and start playing audio from iOS.
    2) When playing audio to multiple sources from iTunes on my Mac, the G Express will "drift" out of sync over the course of a couple of hours. The N Express seems to lock better with my Apple TV.
     
  10. adam9c1 macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #11
    Norcal, is your G Express using WiFi or wired?
     

Share This Page