Can you UPGRADE THE CPU in an Aluminum iMac? (Early 2008)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lPHONE, Mar 30, 2010.

  1. lPHONE macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #1
    I have a 2.8GHz taken apart for HDD upgrade.
    Wanted to know if I could upgrade the CPU upgrade while I was in here.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    No, you can't. The CPU is iMac only and soldered into the mother board
     
  3. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
  4. bimmerfreak0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
  5. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Soldered on the Alu iMacs, socketed on the white iMacs and Mac Minis (ie: Core Duo and early Core 2). Sockets on the new iMac range.
     
  6. BubbaJones macrumors regular

    BubbaJones

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Location:
    East Coast
    #7
    Here is a tear down

    Oops. Didn't see "Aluminum" in the title. Sounds like your SOL :eek:
     
  7. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    The CPU your iMac uses is iMac only (=not available) and even though it uses the Socket P which is quite popular laptop socket but, the fastest CPU you can use is either 3.06GHz Core 2 Duo T9900 (=no difference from your current) or 2.53GHz Core 2 Quad QX9300. Both are extremely hard to find because they are not sold in many places and because of that, VERY expensive.

    Even if it was possible, it NOT worth it
     
  9. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #10
    The only iMac with a removable CPU are the current i5/i7 models.
     
  10. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #11
    The C2Ds are also socketed, as were the old white Intel iMacs.
     
  11. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
  12. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #13
  13. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #14
    i pulled the Logic Board (which is a 820-2301-a) and it is indeed socketed! :D

    now to track down a T9900 or QX9300...
     
  14. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #15
    T9900 ISN'T worth it! It's just 260MHz faster and you'll notice noting. QX9300 may be faster but that costs like 1000$
     
  15. Hexley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #16
    Was the Socket P processor upgrade successful?

    If the QX9300 and T9900 dont work these other chips may. These were shorlisted for being quad core, extreme and being clocked beyond 3GHz.

    Quad-Core Notebook processors
    2.53 GHz Core 2 Extreme QX9300
    2.27 GHz Core 2 Quad Q9100
    2 GHz Core 2 Quad Q9000

    Dual-Core Notebook processors
    3.07 GHz Core 2 Extreme X9100
    2.8 GHz Core 2 Extreme X9000
    2.8 GHz Core 2 Extreme X7900
    2.6 GHz Core 2 Extreme X7800
    3.07 GHz Core 2 Duo T9900

    I'm looking to upgrade my mid 2007 iMac's 2GHz T7300 to the best chip will allow.
     
  16. ToroidalZeus, Mar 14, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2014

    ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #17
  17. Hexley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #18

Share This Page