Can you use a wacom tablet pen from Intuos 2 for a Intuos 3 tablet?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by crazy legs, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. crazy legs macrumors member

    crazy legs

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    OC
    #1
    Hello I was wondering Can you use a wacom tablet pen from Intuos 2 for a Intuos 3 tablet?
     
  2. mulletman13 macrumors 6502a

    mulletman13

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles.
    #2
    I'm 99% sure that you can. I used the pen from my friend's Wacom Bamboo on my Intuos3 and it worked like a charm. There isn't anything 'electrical' with the pen, nor any real drivers, so I assume it would work just fine.
     
  3. crazy legs thread starter macrumors member

    crazy legs

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    OC
    #3
    Thanks :)
     
  4. Mac Kiwi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Hmmm.Not so sure about all accessories.I have an early Intuos,a 2 and a 3 and I definitely cannot mix the mice for instance.I think I also tried the pens as well,maybe the Bamboo uses the same frequency as the intuos 3.



    My guess is Wacom change the frequencies from tablet to tablet so you have to buy,the next gen tools instead of using your old ones.
     
  5. crazy legs thread starter macrumors member

    crazy legs

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    OC
    #5
    Thanks
     
  6. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #6
    I know that intuos 2 pens wont work on intuos 1 tablets, or vice versa. I tried it before when I forgot my pen and it didnt work.

    I would not take any chances trying the intuos 2 pen with a intuos 3 tablet if it involves money.
     
  7. crazy legs thread starter macrumors member

    crazy legs

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    OC
    #7
    Thanks I think you are right
     

Share This Page