Canadian coming to america for 1month

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by matteusclement, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #1
    I coming to the states for 1 month to travel and want to get JUST a data plan for my iPhone 4, is that possible? if so, what provider
     
  2. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #2
    If you don't mind Edge service T-Mobile and Walmart currently offer an unlimited no-contract $30 a month data/texting plan for the iPhone. You could also go with AT&T 3G gophone plans which do not require texting or calling but do not provide unlimited internet.
     
  3. matteusclement thread starter macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #3
    I don't need unlimited, just 200-500mb for basic google maPs and emails. I called AT&T and the rep said they had no such plan.
    Edge might be a little TOO basic.
     
  4. trozau macrumors regular

    trozau

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Location:
    Appleland, USA
    #4
    Just turn off 3G and cellular data then use free WiFi when available. Most malls, eateries have free WiFi. Firiend's homes should have WiFi, too.
     
  5. matt90036 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    #5
    nope, at least not from my experience in Florida and Calfironia. Most places have secured wifi.
     
  6. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #6
    Who is your carrier in Canada? When I do the reverse and travel to Canada I buy a 1 month data plan from my provider here in the States (Verizon) that allows me to use data in Canada. So I would first call your carrier and tell them your travel plans and see what they can do for you.
     
  7. webitorgal macrumors regular

    webitorgal

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #7
    I'd just get a travel pack from your provider. I don't know who you're with, but Rogers has pretty decent ones.
     
  8. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #8
    Since know ones asked is your phone unlocked if not what IOS. Also you might call your provider and ask them about data or unlocking.
     
  9. LapsangSouchong macrumors 65816

    LapsangSouchong

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    the burrows
    #9
    Most eateries? Not in my experience.

    ----------

    A month roaming on Rogers? No thanks.
     
  10. webitorgal macrumors regular

    webitorgal

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #10
    You spend less with the travel package than you would if you just roam.
     
  11. LapsangSouchong macrumors 65816

    LapsangSouchong

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    the burrows
    #11
    And if unlocked, you'd spend MUCH LESS with an American sim.
     
  12. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #12
    Most representatives will not tell you anything. Just buy an AT&T Gophone SIM, activate it online with a different IMEI number then the iPhone(can be any other phone including smartphones) and select a data plan. You can get 500MB for $25. That is it.
     
  13. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #13


    that works if his phone is unlocked if not it won't recognize the sim. op what firmware are you on?
     

Share This Page