Cannot connect to Airport Extreme Base Station in XP? "Out of Range"?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by iBunny, Sep 30, 2007.

  1. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #1
    I just installed Windows XP via Bootcamp, No issues other than I cannot connect to my Airport Extreme Base-station. Windows tells me that "Wireless Network may be out of range" or something.

    Help!
     
  2. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Can you see the Base Station ?

    I ask because when I got my new one, Apple had strangely set the channel to 13, a channel not seen by the majority of Windows computers. It took me a long time to figure it out, and a simple channel change to 11 fixed the whole issue.
     
  3. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #3
    My friend is having the same problem on an HP laptop - channel 11 doesn't fit the issue.

    Anyone know of any other fixes?
     
  4. mambotango macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #4
    I had exactly the same situation as iBunny.

    I got it working by changing the settings via Airport Utility from "WPA2 Personal" into "WPA/WPA2 Personal" and it worked. Btw, before this, I changed from channel 11 to 1, 1 to 2, 2 to 7 without success. I've kept it under channel 7 and just made the change mentioned above.

    Also, under winXP, I went to Wireless Network Connection properties and filled up the preferred networks. Am not sure if this has anything to do with the problem at hand but I am now connected automatically.

    Hope this helps.

    Details:
    Macbook
    Windows XP Pro (installed using bootcamp)
    Time Capsule
     
  5. 6R3ND3L macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #5
    Thanks!


    Worked like a charm.
    i actually just changed from "WPA2 Personal" into "WPA/WPA2 Personal" and it worked.

    thanks so much :)
     

Share This Page