Can't boot APFS partition, no disk type in diskutil

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by Borin, Aug 8, 2017.

  1. Borin macrumors regular

    Borin

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Location:
    Britannia
    #1
    I'm running the latest High Sierra public beta on my 2015 rMBP, and I've had no trouble until now. I converted my macOS partitions to APFS during the first public beta and have upgraded since then with no issues. Earlier today, I decided to restart my rMBP, but instead of booting back into macOS, it booted into my Windows partition. I've restarted before, whilst in the public beta, with no issues.

    I booted to internet recovery and opened Disk Utility. It showed the following:
    I fired up Terminal and ran diskutil list, which returned the following for /dev/disk0:
    Code:
    0: GUID_partition_scheme - 500.3 GB - disk0
    1: EFI - EFI - 209.7 MB - disk0s1
    2: 7C3457EF-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC - 424.3 GB - disk0s2
    3: 5361644D-6163-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC - 655.4 MB - disk0s3
    4: Microsoft Basic Data - BOOTCAMP - 75.1 GB - disk0s4
    
    I tried running the following on the off chance it would fix it
    Code:
    asr adjust --target /dev/disk0s2 --settype "Apple_APFS"
    but it just returned:
    Code:
    asr: volume adjustment failed: unknown error: -123
    I guess that's due to the rMBP's release year, but it didn't work nonetheless.

    Any thoughts on how I might fix this? The Windows partition works perfectly fine, so it doesn't seem to be a drive failure. I'm trying to put off just reformating the partitions and reinstalling macOS from fresh due to some of my files not being backed up, but I'll do that if I must.
     
  2. Superhai macrumors 6502

    Superhai

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
  3. Borin thread starter macrumors regular

    Borin

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Location:
    Britannia
    #3
    Just returns errors about being unable to determine the mount point, statfs() and filesystem of the volume.
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  5. Borin thread starter macrumors regular

    Borin

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Location:
    Britannia
  6. Significant1, Aug 9, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2017

    Significant1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #6
    What happens, if you press alt during startup to select boot partition. Does the partition show up?

    Internet recovery will not give you High Sierra (I doubt) and therefore has no support for APFS. If you have access to another Mac, you could instead make an bootable usb-key installer with High Sierra and boot into recovery on that.

    Edit: Have you tried entering local recovery with CMD+R on startup?
     
  7. Borin thread starter macrumors regular

    Borin

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Location:
    Britannia
    #7
    Only the Windows partition appears when I boot with alt depressed.

    It just provides Yosemite, so it’s no use. I don’t have access to another Mac, so I unfortunately can’t get the High Sierra installer.

    Cmd + R just opens internet recovery; it can’t find the local recovery partition.
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    It looks so messy at this point. If I were you, I will seriously consider backup all the data (it seems you can still boot to the Windows partition), and then boot into internet recovery. Use disk utility there for format the whole hard drive, and start everything again. It may cost you a day. But I suspect that still much quicker than try to figure out the root cause and find the fix.
     
  9. barrykkli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    #9
    It happened to me once. I have a BootCamp Windows partition. For unknown reason, the MacOS drive disappear and I booted into Windows every time. I need to do recovery mode. Use DistUtil to mount the partition where I have my High Sierra on. Once mounted, I'm able to reboot into my MacOS. Not sure it is the same issue in your case. You may try......
     
  10. Significant1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #10
    Maybe you can find a guide to do it from windows. Not something I have looked into. Though I guess that would require to download from somewhere else than app-store.
     

Share This Page