Can't connect to my monitor.

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by orfeas0, Jun 4, 2012.

  1. orfeas0, Jun 4, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2012

    orfeas0 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #1
    Ok I have a very weird situation.
    I have a monitor (HP 2311x) that doesn't work with my macbook air (core i5, 11" 2gb ram).
    It works with an hp laptop, a macbook pro, and another macbook air (same model as mine).

    Now you might think my MBA's thunderbolt port is faulty, but I'll tell you this:
    It does work when connected to my TV! It just doesn't work with the monitor!

    I really don't understand it, because a same model MBA does work with the monitor too...

    All connections described above are MDP->HDMI.

    Also, I reset the SMC and pram-vram and still doesn't work.

    Should I try a format and clean install of Lion?

    I also tried connecting to the monitor in boot camp with windows 7, still no luck!

    edit: I did click on "detect displays".

    Any useful tips and knowledge appreciated (read my post before suggesting what I've already done, though).
     
  2. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #2
    Did you click on the "detect displays" button while it's connected?
     
  3. orfeas0 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #3
    yes, doesn't change anything.
     
  4. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #4
    I highly doubt that performing a clean install of lion will help. Not really sure what could be wrong though.
     
  5. calvol macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #5
    It could be the cable causing the problem, since the HP monitor works with other computers. Also, try your Air with another monitor before doing anything drastic like reinstalling Lion.
     
  6. orfeas0 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #6
    The cables work with a macbook pro, and I've tried plenty of them, so they're not the problem.

    I tried my air with my TV and it works.
    I reinstalled Lion but it didn't format my drive , so I don't know exactly what it did.

    I'll format and reinstall later.
     
  7. iAppl3Fan macrumors 6502a

    iAppl3Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #7
    Format and reinstall. It help fix problems I had with properly detecting my TBD.
     
  8. orfeas0 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #8
    works fine with dvi.
    It's a really odd problem though, and nobody knows what's going on (i asked apple and others too).
     
  9. applerepairs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Location:
    Fulham, London
    #9
    Might be port is faulty although it work with TV but monitor has a different connectivity.
    Replacing the port would fix the problem, Rather than replacing the whole logic board.
     

Share This Page