Cant decide between 13'' and 15'' MBP, this is driving me bonkers

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Misskitty, Jun 18, 2010.

1. Misskitty macrumors 6502

Hi all,

Im sorry if this has been asked before, but I need to put an end to this and get it over with because Ive been undecided for the past 2 weeks now. Ive been wanting to buy a MBP!

Im a senior graphic designer, the heaviest apps I will be running is Adobe CS5 suite. No video editing and no games.

The thing is I want 13'' as I much prefer it over 15. But it has outdated C2D specs in it and I was told to get the i5 to be future proof and an enourmous boost in performance. Plus it has graphics card. Then Ive had other friends tell me that C2D would be enough for my needs. I will be using this computer for 3-4yrs as i usually update to new ones during that time span.

How nessecary/beneficial is a dedicated video card for CS suite?

Also when im at home ill be hooking it up to a 27'' ext LCD anyways.

I dont want 15'' just cause well coming from someone whos had 15 and 17 laptops over the years, theyre just too big and heavy for me.

What should I do? Is Apple going to be coming out with i5 (or even i3) 13'' any time soon?

2. jolawson macrumors member

The reason Apple didn't put an i3 in the 13" was because there really was minimal performance gains over the C2D. I have the 13" and could safely handle the program(s) you just mentioned. The only reason you'd need to move up to the i5/i7 would be if you are running multiple labor intensive programs at the same time.

You would need to actually assess your needs in this case. Haha, mostly its people wanting a 15 or 17 inch MBP and have to settle for the 13".

Good luck!

3. alust2013 macrumors 601

alust2013