Can't decide whether to buy a 27 in. iMac or 15 in. Retina MBP.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by romanator, Jun 13, 2012.

1. romanator macrumors newbie

Long time reader, but finally decided to make an account and partake in some of the discussion :)

I'm currently a computer science student at a university, and I'm thinking about upgrading from my 15 in. mid-2009 MacBook Pro. I also own an iPhone for my personal use, and an iPad for all my note-taking needs.

I've noticed from my first year at school, that I tend to carry around my iPad way more than MacBook Pro. The only time I take my MBP with me is when I go do homework at the library with friends, or when I travel home for the weekend. Computer labs are abundant, so I don't need to worry about lugging around my MBP if I want to hammer out part of my homework between classes. I've also noticed that aside from doing homework (with most of it being online, and using a flash-based webpage), I can do everything I need to with my iPad while on-the-go.

With that in mind, I can't seem to decide what to purchase as my next computer. I've come up with some scenarios about what I could purchase. Feel free to comment, or suggest your own ideas, please!

Scenario 1
    In this scenario, I sell my current MacBook pro to a family member, and purchase a brand-spanking-new Retina MacBook Pro. I've got a fair chunk of change saved up, so I'd be able to splurge on the $2799 version (or $2599 with student discount).
    • Pros: Being able to take my computer with me wherever I go.
    • Cons: I'd still have a 15 in. screen. Granted, I'd probably use the machine with a resolution that gives me more work-space. It's also a little pricey. I don't know if it's faster than the iMac.

Scenario 2