Can't get the HD out of my new Mac Mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Johnkenn, Apr 23, 2013.

  1. Johnkenn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    #1
    What am I doing wrong here, folks? I followed the directions from OWC - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tkaRS6w5l1o

    but I can't get the HD that came with my Mac Mini to budge...Of course, I'm not using considerable force. In the video, the guy just lifts it out. Mine seems to not want to move. Anyone else have this problem? Any suggestions?
     
  2. dapitts08 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #2
    not sure i can help but maybe take a picture of it so folks can see what is what

    just a thought

    i don't recall having any major issues getting mine out of my 2012 mini last week
     
  3. Johnkenn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
  4. opinio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    #4
    Is it catching on the logic board or ram bay? You may need to slide the board. a little if it is (although you shouldn't need to normally).
     
  5. Johnkenn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    #5
    Really weird. I've got the logic board pulled out a tad, but its like the HD is bolted. Ill try an take a few pics.
     
  6. QWERTYMac7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    #6
    There is an outside chance this thread could turn funny...

    I'm just sayin"...
     
  7. Johnkenn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    #7
    Well I'm glad you're so helpful...I appreciate it.

    Anyway, I've got to take out the whole logic board because it's the HD is in the lower tray and is attached to the whole tray by two Torx screws. Not looking forward to it...cross your fingers for me...
     
  8. opinio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    #8
    See this thread and the other thread I pasted in it.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1573780

    If your HDD is installed in the upper bay (which you called the lower tray) then these threads may be of assistance. If it is in the bay I think you are referring to then it will be held in by four screws, not two.
     
  9. Johnkenn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    #9
    Yeah - it was the upper tray. I had to completely remove the logic board and the power supply. Unscrewed the HD from the tray and replaced with the SSD and I'm now installing ML on it. Thanks for the help.
     
  10. opinio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    #10
    If you ever want to put two drives in then (say one in the lower bay (the one under the wifi grill) then refer back to those threads. The aligning screws are a little hard to come by and the sata ribbon is different.
     
  11. Ice Dragon macrumors 6502a

    Ice Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #11
    Mind if I ask what SSD you bought? Crucial? Samsung? OCZ?
     
  12. Johnkenn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    #12
    Samsung 840

    ----------

    BTW - the SSD SCREAMS...
     

Share This Page