Cell reception stuck at 1 bar/-113 db since updating to 5.0.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by LoneWolf121188, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. LoneWolf121188 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    #1
    Ever since I updated to 5.0.1, my cell reception (AT&T) has been stuck at 1 bar (-113 dB). Anyone know what's going on with this? I haven't been dropping calls, and the quality has been fine, so I'm guessing it's just a display problem rather than it actually being at -113 dB. I've tried restarting, safe mode, everything.
     
  2. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #2
    If it's jailbroken that will be the cause.

    It's a common problem after jailbreaking a simlocked iPhone.

    Install ultrasn0w 1.2.5 from cydia that will solve it.
     
  3. LoneWolf121188 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    #3
    To unlock it? But didn't my baseband update when I went from 4.1 to 5.0.1 (I used pwnage tool to make a jailbroken ipsw).
     
  4. mrJnC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #4
    Installing ultrasn0w will create a new problem: if you reboot, you will lose vvm and mms. Popping the sim card or reinstalling ultrasn0w can bring it back until the next reboot.
     
  5. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #5
    You don't unlock it, but it fixes the cosmetic 1 signal bar issue.

    it's a byproduct of the jailbreak and well documented and indeed reinserting sim solves the mms vm problems
     
  6. vong macrumors 6502a

    vong

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #6
    So basically if I am going to update from 4.2.1 w/ 1.59.00 BB. I have to install ultrasn0w and unlock my phone to "fix" the 1 bar issue and remove my sim card and insert again to fix the mms problem?
     
  7. vong macrumors 6502a

    vong

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #7
    Anyone?
     
  8. LoneWolf121188 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    #8
    That's pretty silly....I've never had this problem on any other JB. I'd rather be stuck with a cosmetic issue than an actual functionality issue.
     
  9. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #9
    Well i guess your problem is fixed than.

    You're welcome.........
     
  10. Mr Fusion macrumors 6502a

    Mr Fusion

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    #10
    Exactly. And if it bothers you (it bothered me), just use a JB app called CleanStatus to hide the signal bars. Problem solved!

    ;)
     

Share This Page