Chrome is using up at least 1.5% of my battery each day

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by The Game 161, Jul 5, 2015.

  1. The Game 161 macrumors G5

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Anybody else had issue with this?

    Just seems odd that this seems to be the case as on Gsam this never came up before. Almost makes me want to just stick with the stock browser if it will drain If i’m using it a fair bit.


    This is on my note 4. Will see when I get my S6 edge today if it’s the same issue. For some reason i’m having annoying issues with battery life on my note 4 at the moment.
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    I find chrome uses more battery AND more ram than the stock browser on Samsung devices - so I just use the stock browser.

    However make sure if you are using Chrome that you also download the Chrome Samsung Library Support which most people don't know about

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.chrome.deviceextras.samsung&hl=en
     
  3. jamezr macrumors G3

    jamezr

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #3
  4. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    It's meant to provide better support for Samsung's Touchwiz framework. I assume there must be a benefit or it wouldn't exist ;) I generally found Chrome to be a bit smoother even scrolling on Touchwiz with the library installed.
     
  5. jamezr macrumors G3

    jamezr

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #5
    Thank you! I just checked and it is already installed :)
     
  6. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    Not sure why they don't just put the support library into Chrome standard - why they have this additional component for it that 99% of people don't know about ? Seems very moribund to do it that way.
     
  7. jamezr macrumors G3

    jamezr

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #7
    Agreed! Just add it if you know people need it to make things run better!
    One thing about the Google Play Store that I love love love. When you go to check on an app like the the link you shared. Click on install even if it says installed already. It will show you all of your Android devices that have the app or hat need the app. Pretty cool feature. Then you can drop down to any device and have the app installed. Nice feature.
     
  8. epicrayban macrumors 603

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #8

    Fascinating. Going to try it out. Literally just install it and that's it? Don't have to do anything, just have to have it installed on your phone?
     
  9. The Game 161 thread starter macrumors G5

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    MRU comes through again

    Will download it
     
  10. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    Yep

    No bother :) Give it a try - nothing to lose anyway :D
     
  11. The Game 161 thread starter macrumors G5

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    can't believe how much more smoother and quick it is
     
  12. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12
    Yep - i found the same which just makes you wonder why they didn't put it in the core programme in the first place. It's a real oddity :)
     
  13. epicrayban macrumors 603

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #13
    Wow. HUGE difference.

    Da heck. Can someone explain how this works?
     
  14. The Game 161 thread starter macrumors G5

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
  15. LIVEFRMNYC macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #15
  16. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #16
    It's magic ;)
     
  17. Michael Goff macrumors G3

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #17
    Sorry, Apple didn't make this ergo it's not magical. I insist you remove that accusation before the lawyers show up...

    :p
     
  18. epicrayban macrumors 603

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #18
    It definitely feels like it! Ha.
     
  19. epicrayban macrumors 603

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #19
    Here's another question about chrome: do you guys use "data saver"? Does it help load pages you've visited before faster? Or does it purely only help save data usage with your carrier?

    It's under chrome settings. Scroll down to three advanced settings area.
     
  20. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #20
    I think its supposed to also load lower res imagery (it compresses it before it comes down) to reduce the amount of your mobile data Chrome uses. Not sure it ever makes any discernible difference tbh - so I don't bother using it.
     
  21. gotluck macrumors 603

    gotluck

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    #21
    Not a fan of data saver personally
    I believe mru is spot on. It runs data through a proxy at Google. Things like using a hosts file to block ads doesn't work with data saver because the phone sees all the data as coming through Google.

    I would imagine speed would actually be slower, because there is another step in the equation there in the internet side. S6 is so powerful that I doubt you save anything computing wise with the compression, just cell data I'd imagine
     

Share This Page