Cintiq 12x "Signal Out of Range" - Should I switch to a VGA outlet?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by motorpsycho, Nov 26, 2010.

  1. motorpsycho macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #1
    I've been getting the dreaded "Signal out of Range" error whenever I try to switch my tablet over to a 1280 by 800 resolution, so I've had to settle for 1280 by 780 or so, but it's harder for me to draw that way as the image looks stretched out. I'm using a DVI outlet at the moment, so I'm just curious, if I bought a VGA adapter, would I still be getting this message? I want to be able to use my tablet with the best resolution but have my tablet still process everything without it cramping out.
     
  2. motorpsycho thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #2
    I got the VGA outlet and I'm getting all kinds of "No Sync" signals. I'm about to pull my hair out. Can anyone help?
     
  3. motorpsycho, Nov 27, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010

    motorpsycho thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #3
    Bump,

    I've been getting a "No Sync" signal for days. Anyone else having this problem?

    ETA:

    I've discovered the problem is my VGA Adapter. I'll have to look into either getting a new adapter, or a new cable.
     
  4. motorpsycho thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #4
    Okay, I've officially ruled out the cable and pinpointed it at the Adapter. I was told by the Tech Support Team after sitting through several unsupported phone calls from a disgruntled techs (P.S., Don't listen to anyone that tells you you'll need to disable your macbook LCD monitor in order to use your Cintiq, LIES) that people have been reporting problems with the Apple MiniDisplayport, which, admittingly, mines is a Dynex. It's sort of a low grade apple knock off. They recommended I get the Kanex iDisplayport. Anyway, I guess I solved my own problem.
     

Share This Page