ckinking "belt buckle" type sound when I move my i7 17" side to side? MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by underblu, Apr 19, 2010.

1. underblu macrumors regular

I have my mBP on my lap and sometimes when I move it just slightly I get this slight clinking "belt buckle" sound. Almost sounds like it's coming from the track pad.

Anyone else experience this? Thanks

2. mikes70mustang macrumors 68000

mikes70mustang

3. DJ90 macrumors member

i have that on my mbp too...since im not alone i guess its something normal then

4. gazwas macrumors member

gazwas

5. scottie2345 macrumors newbie

My 15" makes this noise as well, it disturbed me some what as I have never heard a laptop make a noise like it, I even rang apple and got a case no, they did suggest taking it to a store to get it checked, but that is easier said than done, all in all a bit disappointing really, not what I was expecting.

Scottie

6. mbpjohnson macrumors member

ok I am very new to macs but read there is a sudden motion sensor to park the hd, maybe search for it not sure if it makes a noise or not.

Phil

7. Jwalker9 macrumors member

my 15 inch is doing the same thing. it comes from the right side, towards the back? just a small "clunk"

8. uberamd macrumors 68030

uberamd

Did you open it up and check for belt buckles??

In all seriousness, it is the HD heads parking which is entirely normal and safer than if they didn't park. I wouldn't make a habit of shaking your laptop though.

9. TedJustAdmitit macrumors regular

TedJustAdmitit

The easiest way to combat the belt buckle sound is to stop looking at P0RN with your new MBP on your lap.

By the way, my joke was lame.

10. involver macrumors newbie

On the 17" it could be the little flap that covers the ExpressCard slot?

11. Jwalker9 macrumors member