Clicking Update in ITunes loads Windows explorer

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jr866gooner, Oct 10, 2013.

  1. jr866gooner macrumors 65816

    jr866gooner

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    #1
    Hello all,

    As the title says really, when I am on my personal laptop and I plug in my Iphone (lets say I was still on IOS7.0) I would click update button in Iphone page and I would be presented with a pop up box which asks- Cancel, Download Only or Download and install. I would click update and away I go!

    I find though that on the occasion when I tried to update to 7.0.2 on my work PC I have the same version installed I would folow same procedure click update and I am presented with an explorer window with it expecting me to point it a an update file of some sort....

    Why would this be? Is this normal?

    Look forward to your replies.
     
  2. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    Are you clicking any buttons on your keyboard while you hit update? Alt/Option/Ctrl/anything?
     
  3. jr866gooner thread starter macrumors 65816

    jr866gooner

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    #3
    Nope not all! I'm not concerned, my phone updates fine on my laptop but wondered why it wouldn't so simply on the work PC!
     
  4. haruhiko macrumors 68040

    haruhiko

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    #4
    When you shift+click the button in Windows it will open up a window for you to select the update file manually.
     
  5. jr866gooner thread starter macrumors 65816

    jr866gooner

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    #5
    Ah but this happens without pressing shift. I only clock it and this appears!
     

Share This Page