Cmd-R starts internet recovery mode, even though I have a recovery partition

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by malone, Feb 5, 2012.

  1. malone, Feb 5, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2012

    malone macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    I was doing a clean install of my MBA 2011, and found that Cmd-R boots into internet recovery mode instead of the recovery partition, even though I have a recovery partition.

    I am certain I have a recovery partition because "diskutil list" shows it, and the guest account appropriately reboots into the special Safari-only mode (which is found on the recovery partition).

    Here was my process that led to this problem:
    1. Clean install of Lion on MBA 2011 (using SD card with appropriate Lion image)
    2. Updated to 10.7.3.
    3. Enable FileVault 2 and Find My Mac.

    Afterward, on boots, I see both my account and the Guest account (which reboots the system into the Safari-only mode). On Cmd-R, it boots into internet recovery mode instead of the recovery partition. Pressing "Alt/Option" on boot shows my OS volume, but not the Recovery HD.

    Anyone have any idea why it does this, and how to resolve it?

    Many thanks!
     
  2. quadrinary macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    #2
    Bump! I've had the same thing happen.

    What I noticed was that if I entered any network information (after holding down the Option key), it would try to do the Internet Restore the next time i did a Cmd-R. Highly annoying to say the least.

    My solution was to reinstall Lion using the app from the app store (fortunately I had saved a copy before running it the first time I upgraded) and it recreates the Recovery HD and stuff.

    My bigger issue is that I have a VERY slow internet connection in the country I currently live in, and after reinstalling 10.7.3 it still needs to do some software updates, which takes an agonizingly long time. I restored from a Time Machine backup but that takes forever too.

    I'd like to know if there's a way to use the installer to just recreate the Recovery HD rather than go through the entire painful process again.
     
  3. blatopilot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #3
    I realized this is happening to me too. I'm certain that wasn't always the case. Strange.

    I can see the recovery disk with holding option before startup.
     
  4. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #4
    the recovery partition does not include the installer just the tools to allow you to to download lion aka internet recovery
     

Share This Page