College and the rMBP (Buying Advice/Best Time to Buy)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Nyy8, Nov 23, 2015.

1. Nyy8 macrumors 6502a

Nyy8

Hi MR,

I'm in my senior year of high school right now, getting ready to enter college in Fall of 2016. It seems like a long time away, but wow does time go fast.

I've been using a Mac for the last 5 years, I've loved it and now the time has come where I need a Laptop in the coming year for my internship, coming up this summer, and for my studies.

I'm going to be pursuing a Bachelors in Computer Science, something I've always wanted to do since I was 11 or 12.

Enough Backstory, here comes my question and I'm open to advice anymore has. I'm looking to spend about ~$2,500 on a college laptop. I've worked the last 2 years, and I feel this would be an worthwhile investment since the laptop can still be used after college.

Now I'm strongly considering a spec'd out rMBP. 512gb SSD, 16GB ram. Would this be good enough for college? or should I go over to the windows side and get a beefy windows laptop for $2,500.

When would be the right time to buy? I have the money in my account now since I've been working the last 2 years. I don't need the computer until June, since that is when I start my internship.

Also, I specifically chose rMBP with the upgraded graphics because I really enjoy video games and want to be able to game on the go. I'm not looking to max out very game, but I'm looking to play them well enough.

2. One Cool Cat macrumors newbie

One Cool Cat