College student seeking advice on when to purchase a new MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by k.na, Aug 12, 2008.

1. k.na macrumors member

k.na

I realize I'm probably not alone, so hopefully this thread can help others in the same situation.

First off, let me introduce myself as it is my first time posting here. My name's Kelly and I'm about to start my senior year of college. I'm a current (soon-to-be former) PC user. This summer I started working at an advertising agency that entirely used Macs. I had debating switching in the past, but since I grew up using Windows and had more familiarity with it, I never did.

However, using Macs everyday for the past three months really changed my opinion, so I finally decided a couple weeks ago that I'll be buying a new MacBook Pro. Which brings me to my question today!

Now that I'm set on getting a MBP, my only issue is deciding when. I would buy now to take advantage of the Back-To-School promo with the free iPod touch, BUT:

1) the rumors of an updated MBP coming up this fall (in addition to rumors of an updated iPod touch, which isn't that huge of a deal but combined with the updated MBP, I'd like to take advantage of both)

and

2) the recent issues with the defected NVIDIA graphics cards

If I'll be spending around $2000 on a laptop, I'd really prefer that the one I buy is fairly recent and up-to-date, not about to be completely updated in the near future. And clearly, I'd prefer NOT to buy something with a known defect part. For some people, these two options wouldn't be that big of a deal, but I wouldn't be using my laptop as just a casual web-surfing/checking e-mail device. I am looking to get into advertising design/production so essentially, I see this notebook purchase as an investment that I'd like to make sure is a smart one.