College/Uni-MR: Do family/friends take interest in what you study?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by sikkinixx, Apr 20, 2009.

1. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

sikkinixx

I've kind of wondered this for a while now.

Am I the only one who has friends and family that really have zero interest in their studies?

I mean, I study rather dry material I suppose (Early Byzantine/Late Roman history) but out of everyone I know who isn't in the classes with me, my dad is about the only person who has taken any interest at all in what I am studying. His listens to me ramble on about whatever I am writing about at the time, watches some documentaries and asks me questions, etc. My gf? Yeah... I can see her eyes start to glace over as soon as "I just read how Emperor..." starts :eek: can't say I really blame them I guess... but it's a lil bit of a downer at times when people just look at me and say "Why the hell do we need to know about that stuff?"

Am I alone on this?

2. kindablue09 macrumors regular

kindablue09

Nope, everyone is there. It just so happens that your material isn't as enthralling as saving poor starving puppies and reviving them back to cuteness; actually on the spectrum of popular interests it is quite boring. Try talking about your topic with people in your own major, they obviously have an interest in the subject. Also you may want to think about how much you talk about your major with "outsiders", you just may be saying too much too often. We've all been there.