Command (⌘) + Shift + 4 not working

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by impr, Oct 29, 2018.

  1. impr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    #1
    Hi,

    before the mac update
    Command (⌘) + Shift + 4
    i was able to screenshot part of the screen and it was copied to my clipboard i was able to paste it anywhere

    now after the mojave update this does not work by me

    any thing wrong with my mac?

    any other way to easily capture part of the screen to the clipboard?

    thank you in advance
     
  2. AlliFlowers Contributor

    AlliFlowers

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    L.A. (Lower Alabama)
    #2
    Which Mac are you using? I rely on that key combo for screen shotting, and it still works reliably for me on Mojave with my MBA.

    I take it you've tried rebooting?
     
  3. CMoore515 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Location:
    Des Moines, IA
  4. impr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    #4
    does it copy to your clipboard?
    by me it started to put the screenshot on my desktop instead of just copying it to the clipboard
     
  5. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #5
    does command-shift-3 work? and try command-shift-5 (the new screenshot app). check system preferences>keyboard>shortcuts>screenshots; is 'save picture of selected area as a file', with command-shift-4, checked??

    if nothing works, try rebooting.
     
  6. AlliFlowers Contributor

    AlliFlowers

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    L.A. (Lower Alabama)
    #6
    Mine has always saved to the desktop. Never to clipboard.
     
  7. chabig, Oct 29, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2018

    chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #7
    Command-Shift-4 has never copied to the clipboard. If you want any screenshot copied to the clipboard you have to also hold the Control key (Command-Control-Shift-4 in this case). It has always been this way.

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201361
     
  8. CTHarrryH macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #8
    new screenshot app in the other folder now. You can use that
     
  9. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #9
    yep, like i said above; it can be invoked with 'command-shift-5' (& the app itself lives in the utilities folder)...
     

Share This Page

8 October 29, 2018