Company of Heroes runs under Wine!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by kfmfe04, Jun 19, 2010.

  1. kfmfe04 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #1
    Background:

    I had CoH installed under Boot Camp/XP Pro on a 13" MBP for about a year. Although it runs perfectly, the inconvenience of dual boot turned me off and it's scalding HOT. After buying an iMac recently, I thought I'd revisit CoH on a Mac, this time under Wine. Googling around, I found this:

    http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=application&iId=4506

    Bolstered by the apparent success of installs on Linux, I dove right in on OS X.

    Before I start, I have to warn you that I already have CoH installed on a WinXP box networked with my iMac. The procedure that I am going to outline assumes that you have CoH installed already on a Windoze box - AFAIK, no one has gotten a raw install of CoH from discs to work on Wine yet.

    1. Download and install Wine Bottler:
    http://winebottler.kronenberg.org/

    2. Run Wine Bottler. In the Left-Hand List of Options (under "Force Quit Wine"), you want to select "Create Custom Prefixes".

    2A. In Install File, click the "select File..." button and pick RelicCOH.exe installed on your Windoze box - remember, you need a Windoze box networked to your Mac or some way to access that RelicCOH.exe file.

    2B. prefix template should say "new prefix". Under Winetricks, you want to check "vcrun2005" and "d3dx9_36". Finally, in Runtime Arguments, you may want to put "-window" as full-screen mode doesn't seem to work on my iMac 27". I would recommend that you put it in first and rerun without this flag later, if you like.

    2C. After you press Install, select your Applications directory and call your app "Company of Heroes".

    3. After the app is created, you need to copy the entire CoH directory from your Windoze box to OS X. On my machine, the directory is here:

    ~/Library/Application Support/Wine/prefixes/Company of Heroes/drive_c/winebottler

    4. Open Company of Heroes from your Applications window and it should just run inside a window!

    NOTES:

    1. HW:
    Model Name: iMac
    Model Identifier: iMac11,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core i7
    Processor Speed: 2.8 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 8 MB
    Memory: 4 GB

    2. SW:
    System Version: Mac OS X 10.6.4 (10F569)
    Kernel Version: Darwin 10.4.0
    Boot Volume: Internal 2TB
    Boot Mode: Normal

    3. I have CoH and the 2 expansions so my executable actually comes from ToV - it seems to run fine.

    4. I am running at: 2560x1418, High settings when available. Ultra seems to cause problems. Sound and graphics speeds are acceptable.

    5. Only annoying thing is, in Window mode, the mouse won't push the screen when it reaches the edge - I will have to look for some workaround other than arrow keys.

    ----------------------

    From beginning to end, it takes about 30 minutes to jump through the hoops - copying the files over the network took the longest. But I can't tell how how sweet it is to run CoH in a Window under OS X :D

    Good luck!
     
  2. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #2
    just a question... why use Winebottler over any other options.. using Wine manually yourself, or Wineskin (which should give you an easy way to play fullscreen)?
     
  3. Kehaan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    #3
    You could also try Crossover. I use it for anarchy online and it works just fine :)
     
  4. Kupai macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #4
    Just coping CoH from my pc now, cant wait to see how it runs. I've tried with crossover in the past with no success so if this works I will be extremely grateful. :)

    btw was the -window supposed to be in speech marks when it got copied in to the runtime arguments
     
  5. Blake1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    #5
    Excuse my ignorance. I am going to be buying a iMac in the relative future and Company of Heroes is one of my favorite games to play. Since I have it currently on an older pc that I have I look forward to being able to play it on my iMac that will perform much better. I started researching to see if people have already been doing this and found this forum.

    So my question is this, why would you use these other programs (not sure what you call them, bootloaders?) instead of just using bootcamp and installing windows? Did it not work this way? Again, excuse my ignorance. I just want to be able to play COH on my iMac :)

    Thanks.
     
  6. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #6
    Did you read the first paragraph at all?
     
  7. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #7
    Bootcamp is a program that lets you dual boot... Wine based programs let you just run Windows software right on OSX along with all your other apps.

    SOme people, such as you, like to run WIndows and ply games just fine... some of us hate it, I'd rather just not play the game at all if I had to install and run Windows to play it.
     
  8. Blake1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    #8
    Yes, I did. I didn't understand that you could use wine to run windows straight from mac OSX. I was confused why you would use a different boot loader if bootcamp worked fine. But now it makes sense. That is why I started my post by excusing my ignorance.
     
  9. Blake1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    #9
    Aw, makes sense now! Thank you for the help. :)
     
  10. lone1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    #10
    hi , i want to ask you few questions about COH
    1- Can i do the install with an external HDD where COH is already installed ?
    2- Can i play extensions of the game like opposing fronts

    thanks...
     
  11. lone1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
  12. schimmel macrumors member

    schimmel

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #12
    Update from 2016: Running Wine 1.9.15 on Mac OS X El Capitan (10.11.5), Company of Heroes Steam version works fine, however some notes:

    • All automatch games seem to be recorded as losses. I have a -9 streak on my account despite winning at least half the games. I have been reduced from 6 to 3 in rank.
    • FPS is pretty low (guessing around 20-30), have to run at low-medium settings on my late 2011 MacBook Pro 15" with high-res screen and ATI Radeon 6760M graphics card
    • Sometimes random alt-tabbing occurs (app minimizes)
    • Positive though is that everything works out of the box, you can even minimize it while searching for a game and you get the "You got a game" notification sound.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 27, 2016 ---
    Currently, you can only play via Steam and in that case you can do a backup and restore via Steam.
     
  13. pixelatedscraps macrumors regular

    pixelatedscraps

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    Finally decided to give this a go after about 6 years away from COH. Update from tonight ;-)

    Running COH New Steam version 2.700.2.4.3 installed via Crossover 16.2.5 on Sierra 10.12.6 and...everything works perfectly on my 2014 MacBook Pro 15" connected to an iMac 27" in TDM with everything on High / Ultra.

    Now if anyone has had any luck getting the Blitzkrieg Mod working, please let me know. I would hate to have to go the Bootcamp route while the COH community waits for BKMod to be released on Steam...
     

Share This Page