Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

stuuke

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 19, 2004
I'm a photographer and currently I use a powerbook 550mhz g4 powerbook. I realize there are multiple threads about this here but I have kind of a specific situation. I currently use my laptop as a desktop plugged into a 21" monitor as my desktop computer. My primary need for a faster computer would be to process raw photos and work in Photoshop. Is there a significant difference between the 1.2 ibook and 1.33 powerbook? Is there a big difference in the graphic cards? The only dissapointing item missing from these computers is firewire 800 are there any options that set the two lines apart? I would be looking at either of the two ibooks and the 12" powerbook. When I purchase one of these computers is it cheaper to buy memory after or when I purchase?

Thanks

TheT

macrumors 6502
Jan 5, 2002
Germany
stuuke said:
I'm a photographer and currently I use a powerbook 550mhz g4 powerbook. I realize there are multiple threads about this here but I have kind of a specific situation. I currently use my laptop as a desktop plugged into a 21" monitor as my desktop computer. My primary need for a faster computer would be to process raw photos and work in Photoshop. Is there a significant difference between the 1.2 ibook and 1.33 powerbook? Is there a big difference in the graphic cards? The only dissapointing item missing from these computers is firewire 800 are there any options that set the two lines apart? I would be looking at either of the two ibooks and the 12" powerbook. When I purchase one of these computers is it cheaper to buy memory after or when I purchase?

Thanks

Buy memory somewhere else, it's way cheaper... does it have to be 12"? Cause there's FW800 on the 15"...

stuuke

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 19, 2004