Compatibility of Mac mini from Hong Kong to use in UK

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Crocodileyears, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. Crocodileyears macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    #1
    Hi.

    My 1st thread!! hoorah

    I'm looking to get a Mac Mini from Hong Kong. I have friend who is able to buy it and bring over. However i cant seem to find out if it'll work here in the UK with just a simple plug adaptor. Will I need a transformer or fancy AC Adaptor? :confused:
    Any help will be much appreciated

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    Just a plug adapter. All minis can run on 110-240v 50/60Hz (regardless of what the power supply says!). The DVD player will, however, probably be set to region 4. You can change it to region 2 (Europe) but you only can change it 5 times before its locked.
     
  3. Crocodileyears thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
  4. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #4
    I didn't know you could do that, unlock the region. This kind of opens things up ... if you set the region to 2 will it also play region 4 dvds?
     
  5. Peterkro macrumors 68020

    Peterkro

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Location:
    Communard de Londres
    #5
    You shouldn't even need a plug adaptor Hong Kong uses U.K. style electrical fittings.
     
  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    No. Its either, not both.
     
  7. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #7
    Well damn the man. thanks though and sorry to the OP for hijacking the thread.
     
  8. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #8
    You can only set one region at a time.

    You can change 5 times then region changing is locked.

    In the old days, you could flash the DVD player to give you 5 more settings. If you screwed up, your DVD player was hosed in many cases.

    I haven't checked if that's possible today. It's easier to have two devices. For example, one for Japanese (Region 2) and one for English (Region 1).

    In the case of the OP, he'll just need to change the region setting one time and he's squared away.
     
  9. eurochez macrumors newbie

    eurochez

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    #9
    Hong Kong uses the same electrical system (voltage and plug-types) as the UK so there are no hardware modifications or voltage adaptors required to make Apple hardware purchased in HK work in the UK.

    More important perhaps is the question of whether there's any benefit to buying in HK rather than the UK. At the moment, Sterling is very weak as against the US Dollar (the HKD is pegged to the USD) and Apple hardware bought in HK may only be covered for warranty issues in HK. You may want to consider these issues before buying in HK.

    best
    Raf
     

Share This Page