Complete noob. 3.1.2 ipod touch 8gb 3g *should I upgrade to 3.1.3?*

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by Kafluke, Jun 20, 2010.

1. Kafluke macrumors member

I just won this thing in one of those stacker arcade games. (only cost me a buck. 1st try).

So I've jailbroken it using blaikrain but sometimes after making a system change and rebooting it makes me run it again. Anyway, itunes keeps telling me to upgrade the ipod. I've read that I shouldn't in places and others tell me to. I trust you guys as you have the most updated posts out of all the forums I've looked through. I have searched through the posts to try and find my answers before you flame me for not doing so.

1. Should I upgrade?
    2. Can I jailbreak afterward and in a more permanent fashion?
    3. What is this iO4 that I've seen posts about?
    4. Since I have to tether to jailbreak every, will upgrading make it so I won't have to anymore?
    5. Can I sync this thing wirelessly?
    6. Can I somehow wireless tether using my blackberry to get wifi on the road?

Many thanks to all those that help!

2. johnnyham macrumors regular

Nice snag! It's not often that you get big prizes like that on the first try... wish I had your luck.

Anyways, to answer your questions:
    1. Sure, why not? Most apps require you to be running 3.1.3 for them to work. There's little difference between 3.1.2 and 3.1.3 when it comes to the iPod touch.
    2. Yup, just use Spirit. There's a Mac version available, it's pretty straight-forward.
    3. iO4 = iPhone OS 4.0. The next big update. Free for all users. Comes out tomorrow. Pretty big change overall.
    4. Yes
    5. Sync what wirelessly? Mail? Music? Apps? You can check your email wirelessly, but music, photos, videos, apps, etc. will have to be synced via your computer. Although you can download apps via the App store, which is kind of like syncing.