Completely wiped iPhone given to another person is asking for my ID

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mrochester, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. mrochester macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #1
    Hi all

    I factory reset my iPhone 4S which I have sold to my sister's other half. He then set this up as a new iPhone. However, when he's gone to download an app, it's asking for the password for my Apple ID. Firstly, how does this setup as new iPhone know what my Apple ID is, and second, how do I get the phone to forget it?

    Many thanks

    M.
     
  2. dotme macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa
    #2
    Factory reset... how exactly was that done?

    Conventional method is to disconnect the phone completely from iTunes, remove SIM, go to Settings and "Erase All Content and Settings"
     
  3. mrochester thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #3
    I hit the factory reset button in iTunes, let it do it's thing, and then just disconnected it once it had completed this process so that the phone was ready to be set up as new by the other person.
     
  4. toondw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Northumberland, UK
    #4
    Just get him to do a factory reset the phone again. I can only assume you did not do a full factory reset. Don't do it on iTunes, just do it on the phone directly.
     
  5. Sirus2400 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #5
    Go to Settings > Store
    Click on Apple ID at the bottom, click Sign Out, then sign in again with his ID.
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Yes, do the above. Very simple.
    Maybe it activated on your itunes library and your apple ID transfered there.
     
  7. nw9 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #7
    If you were still logged in to your account on iTunes then it probably automatically logged you in on your iPhone. The iPhone does this all the time when you do a sync.
     

Share This Page