Computer takes ~20-60 seconds to shut down and log out, but takes ~6-11 seconds to s

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Intelligent, Aug 17, 2014.

  1. Intelligent macrumors 6502a

    Intelligent

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #1
    Computer takes ~20-60 seconds to shut down and log out, but takes ~6-11 seconds to start. I have tried some of the solutions here but none have worked.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Which solutions here did you try, thus we do not recommend already tried ones?

    And what Mac OS X version do you use?

    Btw, OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion has that bug, where it takes quite a while to shut down. Mine takes also up to a minute to shut down, but I do not care, since I brush my teeth then.

    As for your need to shut down, is it because you want to restart and boot into Windows?
     
  3. Intelligent thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Intelligent

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #3

    Nope i dont need windows nor do i have a license for it, I'm using OS X 10.9. The reason i need to shut down is because sometimes i have trackpad problems that can only be solved by resetting NVRAM, and i also sometimes make changes that require shut downs. And its not only shutting down but Logging out (as it says in the title).
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Aha, and I included logging out with shutting down.

    And again, what steps did you already try?
     
  5. 556fmjoe macrumors 65816

    556fmjoe

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #5
    Sounds to me like you have a process running that is taking a while to be killed.
     
  6. Intelligent thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Intelligent

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #6
    Simple things like, resetting SMC and uninstalled programs that could cause errors, update to latest OS X.

    Yep, thats what I'm guessing too, could it be
    Code:
    com.apple.IconServicesAgent
    ?

    It constantly spits out errors in the console.
     

Share This Page