Confirm AT&T Unlock for Full Price Paid

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Col Ronson, Sep 20, 2013.

  1. Col Ronson, Sep 20, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2013

    Col Ronson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #1
    [​IMG]
    the specialists in the store wern't sure if it would work. But i bought a 32GB AT&T iphone full price $750++ tax

    went home, restored, and it says its unlocked :) tada.

    UPDATE:

    cut down a tmobile micro sim to nano size, jammed it in there, works. LTE service too :)
     
  2. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    Thanks for that. I was planning on buying the T-Mobile unlocked version from the site but since the AT&T & T-Mobile are the same version I can buy either to get an unlocked phone.
     
  3. pepgubau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    #3
    Hi. I'm in the line just now. Still working the unlock with the AT&T full price?

    Thx!
     
  4. yanki01 macrumors 68040

    yanki01

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    I thought you needed an att line to buy it from att?
     
  5. Col Ronson thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #5
    i bought my AT&T from the apple store. Said i wanted to pay full price and not activate the phone. She said no problem.

    Went into my car, restored iPhone on my macbook. When it was all done, got that image above. Tada.

    Added Tmobile sim card. LTE works indeed.
     
  6. iSaxon macrumors 6502a

    iSaxon

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #6
    Mine got activated in store, restored at home and got the unlock message!
     
  7. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Did you pay no contract full price?
     
  8. spinedoc77 macrumors G3

    spinedoc77

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #8
    Is there really no difference? Can I use the Tmobile iphone 5s on AT&T's network exactly the same as the AT&T branded one?
     
  9. Col Ronson thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #9
    only way to get it unlocked

    Dude, just look on the apple store website. The same iPhone model is used for Tmobile/verizon/AT&T. Only difference between the three is they are locked to their respective carriers except version, that is GSM unlocked. Also you cannot use ATT/Tmobile phones on Verizon due to Verizon not liking phones bought for other carriers. But all 3 phones are identical models.
     
  10. pepgubau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    #10
    Confirmed too!

    Got it unlocked when connected to iTunes.

    Sweet!
     
  11. ateganda29 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    #11
    Good to know! Quick question on how you got the "Congratulations your phone is unlocked" message. You mentioned that after you restored that's when you got the message. So you didn't set the phone up as a new phone? You set it up as a restore from backup? Will you get the same confirmation message if you set it up as a new phone?

    Thanks!
     
  12. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #12
    I thought you could as long as you provided Verizon with the correct IMEI.
    :confused:
     
  13. doxielover macrumors 6502a

    doxielover

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #13
    When you restore it to get unlocked message to you take the SIM card out or leave it in?
     
  14. iproductsuser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #14
    So is the "T-mobile contract free" option on apple.com the unlocked version that will work on AT&T?
     
  15. Col Ronson thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #15
    it doesn't matter. i already started using the phone. dw

    probably.

    um no. read the 5000 threads on the subject. CDMA carriers dont activate phones from other carriers.

    i left the sim card in. once again, doesn't matter.
     
  16. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    Yes it will work with AT&T and T-Mobile. Since it is unlocked. It will work with any GSM carrier.
     
  17. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #17
    In theory you could give Verizon the IMEI and get them to do it, the hardware is there, however Verizon's policy is to not activate phones that were sold for other carriers. I'm not sure if there are any smaller CDMA carriers in the US that would do it, I know I've seen a Sprint CDMA phone activated on an overseas CDMA carrier, but most won't do it.
     
  18. doxielover macrumors 6502a

    doxielover

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #18
    I have an activated t-mobile prepaid sim and also a AT&T activated prepaid sim which one do I use when I receive my t-mobile phone to restore the phone? I would like to be able to switch between both SIM cards. Sorry I'm a little confused.
     
  19. loskickking23 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #19
    Mine also said unlocked... I paid $650 for the 16gb att from apple this morning.. :D
     
  20. doxielover macrumors 6502a

    doxielover

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #20
    What are the steps for doing this? Thanks
     
  21. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #21
    Any SIM will work since it is unlocked.
     
  22. sjshaw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    #22
    Just connect it to iTunes as you would any other phone. The "unlocked" message should appear. Mine did.

    Then I swapped out SIM cards and restored from iCloud. All good. iphoneIMEI.info says mine is activated and unlocked.
     
  23. haxrnick macrumors 6502a

    haxrnick

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #23
    My local AT&T store wouldn't sell me an out of contract 5S today. :(
     
  24. doxielover macrumors 6502a

    doxielover

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #24
    Why do you need to restore from iCloud? So when you connect to iTunes do you set it up as a new phone?
     
  25. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #25
    There are no "steps" to unlocking. It either is or it isn't.
    But if it is -- every time you use iTunes to either activate or restore you'll see the unlocked message.
    It's just confirmation.
     

Share This Page