Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Yixian

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 2, 2007
Europe
I have a 2013 MBA 13" and I am looking to upgrade with Skylake, but I can't figure out where the logical upgrade for me will come..

Is the MacBook now a netbook line with only a 12" model or will it see a larger model with Skylake?

Is the MacBook Air likely to be phased out, is it now a beefier version of a MacBook or is it going to be even thinner?!

Will the only 13/14" Apple notebook be a MacBook Pro?!?!

I feel like the lines are very confused at this point.

Ultimately my question is, when will there likely be a 13"/14" Apple notebook with Skylake, that isn't a MBP? In 2015?

motrek

macrumors 68030
Sep 14, 2012
I have a 2013 MBA 13" and I am looking to upgrade with Skylake, but I can't figure out where the logical upgrade for me will come..

Is the MacBook now a netbook line with only a 12" model or will it see a larger model with Skylake?

Is the MacBook Air likely to be phased out, is it now a beefier version of a MacBook or is it going to be even thinner?!

Will the only 13/14" Apple notebook be a MacBook Pro?!?!

I feel like the lines are very confused at this point.

Ultimately my question is, when will there likely be a 13"/14" Apple notebook with Skylake, that isn't a MBP? In 2015?

I don't think anybody here will have useful answers for you. It will all just be semi-pointless speculation.

That being said, it's fairly clear to me that the MBA line is being phased out. The writing is on the wall when the regular MacBook is smaller and lighter than the model named "Air."

I don't expect the Air to get any updates to the screen, trackpad, etc. Why would Apple bother?

That being said, I expect Apple to keep the model(s) around for a few more years as a budget offering, the same way they've been keeping the classic non-retina MacBook Pro on life support.