Connecting 52" LCD TV (Samsung LN52A650) to 24" iMac...what do I need?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ckboddic, Aug 11, 2008.

  1. ckboddic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #1
    I'm wondering what cables I need to hook up my 24" iMac to a Samsung LN52A650 TV. I also have a MacBook Pro I plan to connect to the Samsung from time to time, again, what cables would I need to achieve this?
     
  2. Dmac77 macrumors 68020

    Dmac77

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    Well, firstly what kind of ports are on your TV? VGA, DVI? That kind of info would be helpful!

    Don
     
  3. ckboddic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #3
    All connections:

    HDMI (High Definition Multimedia Interface version 1.3): 4 (3 rear/1 side)
    Ethernet port
    Component video: 2 (Y, Pb, Pr)
    S-Video input: 1 side/1 rear
    A/V inputs: 1 side/1 rear
    PC Inpuy (D-Sub): 1
    RF antenna inputs: 2
    HDMI-CEC
    Premium audio: Improved sound quality with dedicated low-range speaker system
    Headphone jack

    I bought an hdmi to dvi cable. I already have a mini dvi/dvi adapter. Should this do the trick?
     
  4. thecoard macrumors member

    thecoard

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #4
    I'm pretty sure if you have those 2 cables you're in good shape.
     
  5. buccsmf1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #5
    i just used a micro-dvi to dvi cable (bought from apple) and a dvi to hdmi cable off some internet sight. make sure you get a long enough cable, mine is 15ft and its barely long enough.
     
  6. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #6
    Use the PC Input. I assume it will be VGA.

    MacBook Pro's come with a DVI to VGA adapter (I assume you'll need to buy this for your iMac) and all you need is a long VGA cable.

    I'd avoid going from DVI to HDMI - this was going to be my original approach for hooking my MacBook Pro to my TV, and I done a bit research and found it more prone to glitches.

    I've not had any problems with connecting by VGA - and better more it works with Windows via Boot Camp without the need of extra software etc.
     
  7. marco007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #7
  8. Jim Tamara macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #8
    Well, you have to check first what kind of VGA port do you have in your Imac, is it DB9 or something else? The look for that cable.
     

Share This Page