Connecting I Mac desk top to Sony Bravia to watch You Tube

Discussion in 'iMac' started by oldrocker, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. oldrocker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    #1
    Hi,advice please.I am British and live in rural Japan,English advice is hard to get!

    I want to watch You tube videos on my 40 inch Sony Bravia TV.The store where I bought my PC ,an i mac desktop OSX 10.4,suggested I buy Mini Display Port to connect to an HDMI cable High speed type,1080P which I also bought.Not cheap even in Japan!!

    All connected up but nothing on TV screen.Also I suspect I also need another cable for sound.I called the store where I bought all my gear for advice,and I am still waiting.It seems they don't stock i macs anymore although they do have a manual for such. I am NOT by any means good with computers etc,so talk me through simply please!I imagine I will have to change some settings somewhere. Thanks!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    How to: Connect a MacBook, MacBook Air, or MacBook Pro to a TV

    If you have an iMac running Mac OS X 10.4, you most probably are having a Mini DVI port, not Mini DisplayPort, as that one was introduced in late 2008.

    Btw, your post is not really hard to read, but not really easy to read either. Maybe you could edit your punctuation.


     
  3. oldrocker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    #3
    Connecting I mac to TV

    Thanks for advice.Today I spent an hour with non English speaking staff at the store where I bought my gear, and their advice proved a dud, even after they advised me to buy a cable for audio,and said pressing F2 key would do it,no picture just sound.

    My I mac is a 2007 model so does that mean it can't be done I wonder.
    The only port that can take the Mini Display Port is a firewire port according to the manual symbol.Does this seem right, because as I said I am a newbie with PCs even though my PC is not new! As I read from the box now, it is a Mini Display Port that I was sold .

    The cable is connected to the back of my TV correctly at HDMI port 4.

    Tomorrow I will try and find an English speaking PC savvy person to help,the store will only offer technical assistance at my home for about 70 dollars even if the job only takes five minutes!
    Thanks anyway,:confused:
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    I posted the two parts about "Mini DVI" and "Mini DisplayPort", including the images and the explanation where it is used, for you to see, that you don't have a Mini DisplayPort on your iMac, it was added to the iMac in 2009, AFTER it has been introduced with the MacBook Pro in late 2008.
    The Firewire 800 port may look a bit like the Mini DisplayPort, but they are not compatible.

    Again, you need a Mini DVI to HDMI connection, which can be done via "Mini DVI to DVI" adapter and a "DVI to HDMI" cable.
    Didn't the "How to: Connect a MacBook, MacBook Air, or MacBook Pro to a TV" link help?

    As reference, I embed the various Firewire plugs and ports and the MDP graphic again.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  5. MacHamster68, Feb 27, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #5
    hdmi is not hdmi on every tv

    one sec i explain

    1st i have two polaroid tv's , they look the same apart from one is black and from 2008 the other is white from 2009 so far they look identical apart the white one has freeview and has a tiny difference in the serial number both have HDMI in

    the black one was connected via dvi to my Mini G4 using dvi to hdmi adapter , to my PowerMac g5 and iMac core duo and worked just plug and play 1280x768

    the white one is a different matter , it worked perfect on the Mini G4 again with dvi to hdmi adapter ,so it did on the PowerMac , but it totally refuses to see the iMac core duo connected via mini dvi to hdmi , TV just says "no input device found " and turns into sleep mode ,but rarely if i find that sweetspot when it just fell asleep, using system preferences in the iMac to detect display and exact at the same time wake the tv with the remote up, then and only then the iMac sees the tv and the tv the iMac i really have to be at the right spot of the tv just had fell asleep not later , otherwise the tv says again "no input device found"
    which is pretty annoying as 90% of times i miss that sweetspot
    a tv tech confirmed that everything is working fine and no issues with the tv at all
    and yes the iMac works fine with any other display i hang on to the mini dvi
     

Share This Page