Considering a white Macbook 13 in... But not quite sure what to get.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by booste, Mar 25, 2009.

1. booste macrumors member

booste

I'm a high school student in Grade 11 approaching 12 and I need a laptop for school stuff life essays and because I'm in computer courses I need it for coding and a bit of game development as well.

I want to get a white MacBook because cost is an issue, i'm looking at getting a refurbished one for $999 (I'm in canada so that's $150 CAN off) Are the refurbished computers worth it? And how low will this computer last me as I plan on going to university for Computer Science after grade 12.

2. Demosthenes X macrumors 68000

Demosthenes X

Refurbished Macs are a fantastic deal. They're good as new, come with full warranty, and you can buy extended AppleCare for them if you want.

As for the white MacBook: it's an excellent machine, and should serve you well for many years to come. My MacBook will be three years old in short order, and handles all of my general computing needs with ease. It even does some light video editing without breaking a sweat.

I'd say you can't go wrong with the white MacBook. Just be careful when ordering: I know the Canadian refurb sites have the old 2.1GHz model for $959, and the newer 2.0 one for $999. Make sure you're getting the one with the NVIDIA graphics - it's a much better machine than the older one. :)

3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

Sun Baked

Make sure it is a Nvidia9400m instead of the Intel X3100 integrated GPU.

While both machines are good, if you ever plan on playing a game you'll definitely want the Nvidia chipset.

4. booste thread starter macrumors member

booste

Thanks guys, I'm defiantly going for the newer model even though I don't play graphic intensive games. But are you sure It will last me about 5 years assuming I don't get a new one?

5. michael.lauden macrumors 68020

michael.lauden