Convince me to buy iPhone 5...Kinda confused..Need that push

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Dinh, Sep 17, 2012.

1. Dinh macrumors member

Dinh

Hi Guys

This is my first post on this forum , so apologies if this is the wrong section.

So here is my situation. I had used iPhone 4 for about an year and I've been using the Samsung Galaxy S3 for about 4-5 months now.
    (Got a gift from my Boyfriend :p )

Please don't ask me what I was using before iPhone 4 :p.
    Now the iPhone 5 has released and the hype is huge.
    I'm in dilemma if I should buy with iPhone 5 or keep using Galaxy S3.
    Now I'm not the kind who will go and buy iPhone 5 in launch day, and it'll be at least a month before I order my iPhone 5.

Here is why I'm confused:

Things I miss from iPhone 4 experience on the Galaxy S3:

1) The premium feel. The first thing when I have to use phone is to pick it up. And there was something about iPhone which I miss in S3.
    Now don't get me wrong, the GS3 is nice to hold too.
    Specially with it curved edges it is actually nice to hold.
    But I'm not sure what was it about iP4 , it just felt better in hand. Maybe it was the size or Weight :p.

2) The instant boot for deep sleep : The S3 takes about a second before waking up when you hit the hoe button. Grrrrr...It's so frustrating when you are used to waking up the device instantly. Step back.

3) iMessage: Although Watsapp is a nice alternative.

4) The app store. Google Play isn't bad, but I certainly feel App store was better.

However, If I plan to switch from S3 to iPhone 5, here are my biggest fear and here is why I'm confused.

1) I'm kinda used to the big screen. Took a day or two to adjust but now it feels perfect for YouTube videos.
    How will the 720p videos be on iPhone 5? Will it have black bars or borders or will it fill the entire screen.

2) Customization: I'm not sure how much can jailbroken iPhone does. Now here are few of the things I just loved in S3 :