Corsair 16GB Memory $420.00 now in stock

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Pentad, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. Pentad macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    #1
    I received an auto-notify from NewEgg that Corsair's 16GB memory upgrade is not in stock. This is great deal considering 16GB was over $1k just a short time ago.

    Here is the part information:
    CORSAIR 16GB (2 x 8G) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1333 Laptop Memory Model CMSO16GX3M2A1333C9

    NewEgg's Page:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233217


    -P
     
  2. Sam2lucky13, Oct 13, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2011

    Sam2lucky13 macrumors 6502

    Sam2lucky13

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    #2
    just installed 16gbs of Patriot today....feels good man.
     
  3. xxcysxx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #3
    does 2011 13" macbook pro support this much ram?
     
  4. Sam2lucky13 macrumors 6502

    Sam2lucky13

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    #4

    yes
     
  5. TheRdungeon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
  6. Pentad thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    #6
    Just wondering how much the Patriot memory was?

    Thanks,
    -P
     
  7. xxcysxx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #7
    so beside brag rights reason, what would i ever do with this much memory?
    macbook pro 13" doesn't even play games well. or at all!
    the way i see it if i don't use all that memory, then i just waste my money.
     
  8. bearcats087 macrumors member

    bearcats087

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Cincinnati
  9. T4R06 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #9
    i'd rather buy SSD and go for 8GB $39 for that kind of money. 16GB ram is useless
     
  10. Sam2lucky13, Oct 13, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2011

    Sam2lucky13 macrumors 6502

    Sam2lucky13

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    #10
    460$....I got tired of waiting on newegg but i wouldve preferred corsair...there's no difference though just a preference. and cs5 uses all of it for all the haters in the thread.
     
  11. altecXP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #11
    Depends on the size of the data sets you are working on.
     
  12. bearcats087 macrumors member

    bearcats087

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    #12
    chances are if you are working with such large data sets you need a bigger screen and much better processor with a stronger gpu so chances are the 13 wont be the one
     
  13. shardey macrumors 6502a

    shardey

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #13
    For someone like you yes. I can easily could push past 8gb running one VM only.
     
  14. Adamantoise macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #14
    Keep telling yourself that, but it doesn't change the fact that you're full of it.
     
  15. xpcker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #15
    what do you work to use 16gB?

    i have open:

    skype
    starcraft 2 on windows mode
    mail
    pulp
    word
    excel
    iphoto
    parallels desktop 2gb ram in coherence
    mumble
    keynote

    and still use 7.4gb

    what the hell do u make to invest 450 bucks D:
     
  16. mac jones, Oct 14, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2011

    mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #16
    Pro apps. Video and Audio.

    There are Audio apps/projects that require at least 24GB. But of course this is a pretty narrow range.

    God help the fools who need these apps set up like this :D

    Anyway, this is a major price reduction; cut in half! For those who have wanted this amount, it's been out of reach as the price was just way over the top. This price just squeaks into the doable range for regular working people who don't make a living with the Pro apps.
     
  17. Pentad thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    #17
    :rolleyes:

    Have you ever considered the world is bigger than just you?

    I -like many other people- use their computers for more than surfing the web.

    Frankly, an SSD is worthless to me. I have almost a TB of data that I use for work. I can't purchase a 1 TB SSD without spending a small fortune and 16GB of ram is much cheaper than a 1 TB SSD drive.

    So before you make rash judgements about what is worthless or useful, try looking beyond yourself.
     
  18. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #18
    I'm probably going to hold on off this even though it's a huge improvement.

    I 'theoretically' need this amount of RAM, but the truth is i haven't been running out with 8GB recently.

    And that's what it boils down to: It's easy to know where your at with the disk space, as most of us are familiar with the experience of constantly running out of space to the point were it's a real nuisance.
     
  19. fingerman macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    Stockport, UK
    #19
    I'm waiting for the prices to come down a little more and then will be purchasing 16GB

    8GB is easily eaten up when I've got 3 or 4 VMWares running at the same time :rolleyes:
     
  20. shardey macrumors 6502a

    shardey

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #20
    I don't understand where your part came into play, oh yeah just to come troll. Just because you can't fathom the use of 16gb doesn't mean I can't.

    Good one Jackass.
     
  21. xpcker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #21
    Is not that the world is bigger than me. tomshardware have great comparisson of 8-16gb ram benchmarks.


    The point is that, if you have a macbook pro, according to my perspective, buying it 16gb ram is worthless because the processor cant keep up to it.

    YOU CAN BE THE PRO AS THE HELL U WANT (or call it as u like), but, for me, spending between 60 and 400 bucks just for waiting on 1 hour and 50 min of encoding its worthless. the program will work as fast as the processor and the arquitechture of the management of proc/ram can do.

    if i had the bucks to have a xeon 8 core, 16gb justifies, otherwise, its just a troll conduct and who has it bigger thing.
     
  22. RedReplicant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #22
    Yet you felt the need to share your opinion. Nice.
     
  23. Maschil macrumors 6502a

    Maschil

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #23
    ALL I CAN say is lol.... my 8gb is still rocking!
     
  24. dia3olik macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #24
    That's plain wrong.
    You are quite rude in your assumptions and you ignore some basic principles...
    the 2011 MBPs are VERY fast and the only bottleneck (in its standard config) are the RAM and HDD.
    I use it with 8gb with AfterEffects and Premiere, if I open and use them one at a time they are fast as they were on my Nehalem Mac Pro.
    If I open both (and only use ONE at a time!) the mac becomes really slow and my swap increases up to 6gb...
    IT IS CLEARLY A RAM LIMITATION, so having spent about 3000euro (mbp+ssd)...300eur for 16gb seems a VERY CHEAP upgrade!!!
    ;))
     
  25. Ant.honey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #25
    Damn. I spent way too much money at OWC then with their 16gb kit.

    I'm using the latest MBP as a stop gap while I wait for the new Mac Pro. I use every bit of the 16 gb of ram. 15" 2.3ghz.
     

Share This Page