could someone post experience of photoshop CS5 on new 11-inch MBAir?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by albertwang, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. albertwang macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Notre Dame
    #1
    I believe the cpu/ram of 11' MBAir could handle normal use of video/MSoffice/web. The only concern is: occasionally I need my computer to run photoshop cs5 and illustrator cs5, even AutoCAD. I know I should get a MBP or iMac for that. But I am wondering if the MBAir can handle that, at least for a limited usage.

    thanks
     
  2. cheapa55 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
  3. r2fa3l macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
  4. bloodycape macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Doesn't autocad have a min resolution requirement?

    I tried CS5 demo on my ibook G4 and it was fairly slow and on my TT with the 1.2ghz(working at the 1.4ghz speed of the base Air) cpu Photoshop CS5 works fine for light to medium work. Heavier stuff you may notice you are waiting a bit longer for a render to finish. Not sure how much faster or slower CS5 would be on OSX, but it should run it fine, pending you are cool with the screen size and some extra wait times.
     
  5. niuniu macrumors 68020

    niuniu

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    A man of the people. The right sort of people.
    #5
    Also interested in seeing the 11 incher pushed to it's limits :D
     
  6. SashaFierce Guest

    SashaFierce

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #6
    CS5 runs just fine. I have the 13' MacBook Air. However zooming in with the trackpad causes a noticeable lag.
     
  7. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    I think this answers the question of whether the 11.6" can run it smoothly...
     
  8. bloodycape macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    I have that same problem with CS3 on my CD MBP.
     
  9. Apple OC macrumors 68040

    Apple OC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Hogtown
    #9
    running CS5 will work just fine ... as you described your needs as occasional.

    you will be pleased on how it runs ... screen size is the only setback.
     
  10. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #10
    Without posting a similar thread, has anyone tried Adobe Lightroom 3 yet?

    I use it on my old poly MacBook (2ghz 2gb C2D) and it's fine for tethering/field checking of images. Was wondering how the new Air copes (especially the 1.4/2gb/64gb version).
     

Share This Page