Current 27" iMac with m9 GPU--can it handle a second 4K 60hz monitor?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by cmm, Oct 26, 2015.

  1. cmm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #1
    Preferably the Dell P2715Q. Will the 27" iMac with the default m9 GPU be able to power a second hidpi screen? Is want to run the Dell at 1440p hidpi. I don't game but I have lots of windows open generally of largely static content (PDFs, sublime text, latex docs, etc).

    I just don't want lag. Can I get by with the default GPU since I don't game with a second 4K display? Thanks!
     
  2. whodatrr macrumors 6502a

    whodatrr

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #2
    So far, best I can find is that Apple says the new 5k can drive two external 4k displays...

    "Simultaneously supports full native resolution on the built-in display and up to two 4096-by-2160 external displays or one 5120-by-2880 dual-cable external display"

    https://support.apple.com/kb/SP731?locale=en_US

    No word on the refresh. I went with the upgraded card, not for gaming, but because screen real estate is important to me as well.
     
  3. cmm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #3
    I'm skeptical of what apple says. 10.10 with 4K displays was a disaster despite what Apple said. So on that note, how is your experience with the upgraded GPU? How many extra monitors do you have, what refresh rate, how are you connecting and which specific monitor do you have? Oh and what hidpi resolution do you run on the externals (does the scaled res on te 5k iMac display change performance).
     
  4. whodatrr macrumors 6502a

    whodatrr

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #4
    My 5k is still with FedEx, after two missed delivery attempts... LOL

    Currently using a 2012 i7 that's driving two 2.5k 27s without breaking a sweat. Ultimately, I'd like to eventually switch to 4k externals, which is why I upgraded the GPU. But really, I have no idea how they'd perform? But I do feel that I'll eventually be driving a lot of pixels, so the upgrade was worth it.


     
  5. jcr918 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #5


    CONFIRMED -



    I have two Dell P2715Q monitors hooked up to 5K iMac I am getting 3840x2160 60HZ on all my displays. I don't think you can run two monitors and the iMac in 5K. My 27" iMac looks like its only able to output 3840x2160 60HZ also
     
  6. cmm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #6
    Thanks. To be clear, that is non HiDPi mode but just 3840x2160 @ 60hz on all displays? My eyes aren't good enough for that. Can you scale with switchresx to 1440 hiDPi or something similar? What about with one P2715Q, can you run the 5k imac at 5k and the P2715Q at 1440 hidpi? I assume you have the upgraded GPU?

    Now, the last question I have is what PCIe SSD does the 5k iMac use? I can't find much info on the apple website. I want to know if the SSD is slower than the SSDs in the rMBPs....
     
  7. jcr918 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #7

    I downloaded that program you asked me to try it's a cool program. Ok never mind is shows I can do 5120x2880 on the imac and two at 3840x2160 60hz. I am also able to scale down I went through all the res in that program for each monitor testing them .

    Awesome going to have to get this program its way better then the Apple display setting :)


    Yes I have the upgraded GPU my 2015 iMac is fully loaded top specs
     
  8. cmm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #8
    Awesome, glad you like switchresx, it is great indeed. The developer is very responsive to questions as well; well worth it.

    So you have no lag issues? Are you running 10.11?
     
  9. jcr918 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #9

    No lag that I can see :) I am on the latest version everything is up to date. I am really impressed with this new iMac. I upgraded from a late 2013 fully max iMac.

    One thing I don't like is the speakers they seem like a down grade on the 2015 iMac
     
  10. whodatrr macrumors 6502a

    whodatrr

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #10
    Just got mine today and, now that you mention it, it does sound a bit "boxy". I'll have to play with it more, when I have time. But it sounds a bit flatter than my late 2012 does... Hmmm???

     
  11. jcr918 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #11

    is there away to tweak the sound? Honestly I am not impressed with the new iMac speakers. We should be moving forward not backwards
     
  12. whodatrr macrumors 6502a

    whodatrr

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #12
    I'll play with it more tomorrow. But mine did seem to get a bit better with time. It opened up and sounded less "tinny". Time will tell?

     

Share This Page