dell up2414q 4k and rmbp13 (2015) - lag at 60hz?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by terencedriver, May 12, 2015.

  1. terencedriver macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    #1
    Does anyone have a rMBPro13" 2015 with a dell up2414q 4k?

    Does it lag at 60hz via display port?

    I know it is supposed to work but my question us about fluidity and performance.. Does the display jitter and lag? Does the Macbook have to work so hard that other tasks suffer? Does it heat up and spin fans up?

    This is the adobeRGB monitor not the p2415 that everyone is taking about at the moment.
     
  2. chevalier433 macrumors 6502a

    chevalier433

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #2
    Your graphics card don't support 4k at 60hz only 30hz.
     
  3. ByDesign macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #3
    The 2015 rMBP 13" will do 60Hz while hooked up to a capable monitor. Mine is doing 60Hz and here is a clip of it running. Sorry, I don't have any experience with that Dell. Mine is a ASUS.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GHpbgHHbEk

    Here is a list I created while learning how to hook up my monitor.

    1.) To get 60 Hz you must be running a DisplayPort 1.2 Male to Mini DisplayPort Male Cable.

    2.) HDMI will work but will only run at 30 Hz. It will feel like the Macbook Pro is dropping frames but the 4K screen should still look beautiful.

    3.) When connecting to the monitor (and you have the Macbook Pro lid open) you get 2 choices under display options. Pick optimize for your 4K monitor and not the internal retina display. Then choose scaled and select "Looks like 1920x1080". Close the lid on the Macbook. This setting looks very nice on mine.

    4.) Macbook Pro must be plugged in.

    5.) Double check that your monitor is running 60 Hz. by looking in your 4K monitor's On Screen Menu.

    6.) Make sure Display Port option is changed from 1.1 to 1.2 on the monitor.

    7.) Even if everything works as it should there still may be some issues that are annoying.
     
  4. terencedriver thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    #4
    Can you confirm that this advice is wrong. I don't know what to believe anymore...
     
  5. ByDesign, May 14, 2015
    Last edited: May 14, 2015

    ByDesign macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #5

    If you look at the Sig line of chevalier433 it states that he/she owns a Macbook Pro 15" retina early 2013. I would only assume that he/she read your question to quick and misunderstood that you were talking 2015 13" and not 2013 15".I'm guilty of doing this myself sometimes. If he/she read the question correctly then the answer chevalier433 gave was not accurate. Here is a picture of my 2015 rMBP 13" doing 60Hz as confirmed by my Monitors On Screen Display. The picture was taken with my iPhone 6 Plus.

    Now keep in mind that not all is rosey at 60Hz for everyone! I have enjoyed this big 28" monitor for light photo editing and web browsing but some think the lag is unacceptable. I tried one game and had nothing good to say as I uninstalled it.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. campyguy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #6
    OP, some good and some not-so-good input in this thread.

    Your rMBP is capable of 4k video @60Hz. Your Dell is capable of 4k with your rMBP.

    Your Dell must have MST enabled to achieve 4k @60Hz. You also must use the display's DisplayPort port - the mDP port on your Dell is DP 1.1a-compatible, the DP port is DP 1.2-compatible.

    Enable by first connecting to the display via the DP port, using the Dell-supplied or DP-1.2 certified mDP>DP cable (the DP 1.2 cables are dual-link, 1.1/1.1a cables are not). If you need to switch cables, from my own experience with newer Dell 4k displays I recommend powering down and unplugging the display, then connecting the Mac to the display with the mDP-DP cable, then powering up your display and select the DP port from the display's menu buttons.

    Enable MST on the display: Menu > Display Setting > DisplayPort 1.2 > Enable

    Apple has stated that your Mac will automatically detect an MST display, provided that the display is configured properly (including its firmware). We have one of each, MST was not enabled out of the box (just like the two P2715Q displays on my desk). Cheers!
     
  7. terencedriver thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    #7
    Thanks for the really informative posts.

    So the dell up2414q uses MST. I hope there is a 2015 model that uses SST.

    The p2415q does use SST but doesn't cover adobergb.
     
  8. MacbookPro2015 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    #8
    By Design that youtube video was really helpful. IT looks like it runs pretty smooth overall compared to other videos I've seen. Can it run that smooth with the 4K as an extension? Your post makes it seem like you are running the 4K with your MBP on clamshell mode only
     
  9. chevalier433 macrumors 6502a

    chevalier433

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #9
    Other member are correct I didn't know new Intel graphics chip its capable of 4k at 60hz my mistake sorry.:eek:
     
  10. campyguy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #10
    One addendum to my earlier post, for clarification, regarding DP 1.2 cables. I have two Dell 4k displays on my desk, but I don't know what "type" of cables they are, so I performed a bit more research...

    I've found that there are different types of DP 1.2-compatible cables, those that are certified for (up to) DP 1.2 1600p or DP 1.2 2160p - for the UP2414Q, you'd want the latter...
     
  11. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #11
    I have the same monitor but it runs at 60Hz for me due to the 15" model
     
  12. aking83 macrumors member

    aking83

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    I have two Dell UP2414Q 4K Screens and I understand only one can run at 60Hz while connected. However I cannot even use the 2nd 4k display plugged in via HDMI to the mbpro13' to run the other 4k display at lower resolution. Is there anyway to run the 4k at optimal resolution and the 2nd monitor at lower resolution?
     

Share This Page