Desperate, Tired of trying to figure out how to configure a Mac Pro, PLEASE HELP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by paulgl, Feb 7, 2008.

1. paulgl macrumors newbie

All,

I want to spend around 3 k max. I am a photographer wanting to build a Mac Pro. All I want to do is photoshop, period. I am not a full-time professional photographer. I'm actually graduating from med school in 3 months and will be a very busy resident. But, I want a fast computer for photoshop, I already have a Dell 2407 widescreen. Why mac pro? because of resale value, ability to upgrade, and because i already have a great monitor.

I am sick of reading about computers. What do I do? I seem to come upon something new/different every day.

Processor: Do I need a 4-core, or is 8-core needed? How many ghz are necessary?

RAM: at least this seems easy, buy a 3rd party 2gb pair x 4.

Hard-Drives: I have NO IDEA.

a--an OS on a fast 10k drive w/small total gb, like 160 gb. Then do RAID 0 on 2 other drives, like maybe 2 250 gb's? Then have 1 large drive for backup.

b--
    can I just use a few drives and not do any raid or anything? Like maybe 3 750 gb drives?

c--if i do go w/raid, which one? RAID 0-fast, but susceptible to large data loss? RAID-1-just for good data copying...RAID 5 or RAID 10--don't even really know what these are....Also, for RAID, do you need to get SoftRaid from another vendor?
    d--refurbs...if you buy one, there's no wireless card, so if i buy one then it has to be installed...wouldn't that cost money??

I still have student discount access, which saves me a little money but NOT on refurbs.

Please help, I want simple, non-complicated, and fast!!! I don't really care too much about tons of backups, I'm okay w/just putting stuff on old usb external drives i already own. i know it'll be slow, but it's backups, so i don't care. Just tell me what to do pretty please, that's all!!

ANYONE NICE ENOUGH TO ANSWER THIS, THANK YOU A GREAT DEAL!!!!

2. imte macrumors newbie