Detecting Retina Manufacturer in Late 2013 rMBP 15"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Larrabee213, Oct 24, 2013.

  1. Larrabee213 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #1
    I am curious how to detect which brand of the retina display I have. I am using the $1999 15" rMBP

    Part of me thinks the colors look off, but it might just be the look of the retina.

    I tried the string ioreg -lw0 | grep "EDID" | sed "/[^<]*</s///" | xxd -p -r | strings -6

    But I just get back, "Color LCD"
     
  2. Larrabee213 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #2
    Any ideas? Looks like Apple changed the code to look it up?
     
  3. Larrabee213 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #3
    figured I would give this one last bump for the night crowd.
     
  4. Raska macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    In order for me to retrieve the full information, I had to install Xcode and the developer tools that come with it. Only after I did that, did the full information on the display panel appear using that command.
     
  5. Larrabee213 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #5
    I did that, I still just get "Color LCD" as the return.
     
  6. Kariya macrumors 68000

    Kariya

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    #6
    Code:
    ioreg -lw0 | grep "EDID" | sed "/[^<]*</s///" | xxd -p -r | strings -6
    Try this string
     
  7. Larrabee213 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #7
    Same result, "Color LCD"
     
  8. iPhone5s5c macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    #8
    Just found this online. Hope it helps!

    Paste the following into a single line in the command line:

    ioreg -lw0 | grep IODisplayEDID | sed "/[^<]*</s///" | xxd -p -r | strings -6

    You will see something similar to this:
    LTN154BT
    Color LCD

    With the first line being the LCD panel model and the second line being the color profile you are using (same as set in your Display preferences). You can then find out what the manufacturer and specs of the display are by googling for the model number, for instance LTN154BT turns up this page indicating it is a Samsung 15″ display running at 1440×900 and capable of displaying a maximum of 262,000 colors.



    Please let me know if this helps.
     
  9. Larrabee213 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #9
    Still returns, "Color LCD" and nothing else.
     
  10. iPhone5s5c macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    #10
    Can you post a screenshot?
     
  11. BlockEight88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    #11
    Do any of you know how many people returned ther 1st gen or even 2nd gen rMBPS because they got an LG screen? Apple got smart and disabled this. I guess it's better to not know.
     
  12. Larrabee213 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
  13. Larrabee213 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
  14. Raska macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #14
    I wonder if its an issue with just having the integrated graphics. I have the dedicated graphics and it works fine. The integrated graphics only 15 rMBP and all the 13 rMBP doesn't work with the terminal command.
     
  15. bravenewmac macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    #15
    bump as i have the same problem - any other way to find the manufacturer
     
  16. anarti macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Location:
    Scotland
    #16
    works like a charm, if it asks to install some Xcode components to get it to work, you need to do so.

    my output is:
    Color LCD
    LSN154YL01-A01
     
  17. bravenewmac macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    #17
    it did ask for xcode but still only returns "color lcd" and thats it
     
  18. laurihoefs macrumors 6502a

    laurihoefs

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    #18
    Do you have an Intel-only rMBP, or one with an Nvidia GPU too?
     
  19. bravenewmac macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    #19
    the 13" only have internal gpu´s
     
  20. laurihoefs, Dec 20, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2013

    laurihoefs macrumors 6502a

    laurihoefs

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    #20
    Sorry, I didn't realise you were talking about the 13" model, I just saw the 15" on the thread title.

    Either way, the string does not work on the 13" model, or the current 15" base model with iGPU only.

    Edit: There's one possible way to find out the manufacturer on iGPU only rMBPs mentioned in the Yellow tint on Haswell rMBP 15" thread. It's not certain which values correspond to which manufacturer though, so that may, or may not give you what you are looking for.
     
  21. tigrakitten macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    #21
  22. PeterKG, Dec 22, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2013

Share This Page