Devs slow to update Apps for iPhone 5?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by -FlyAuburn-, Sep 23, 2012.

1. -FlyAuburn- macrumors regular

Disclaimer: I'm not a developer so I have no idea what it does or doesn't take to re-code an App for a larger screen size.

Having said that is it really all that difficult? Maybe I'm just impatient or my expectations were off, but I feel like:

1. More Devs/Apps should have been ready with day one updates for the new screen size.

2. After a couple of days I would have expected more updates to start rolling out and it seems like there are almost none....

So what gives? Any devs have any insight on this?

2. mrjinglesusa macrumors newbie

mrjinglesusa

Remember, Apple has to approve not only new apps, but upgraded apps as well. Also, no devs had iPhone 5s to test on before Friday.

Give it time. The next week will see MANY more apps being upgraded to support the iPhone 5.

3. jetlitheone macrumors 6502a

I sure hope so. The boxes on top and bottom are annoying.

4. markyr17 macrumors 65816

markyr17

I expected apps to be updated quicker as well. I know we need to give the devs more time, but it seems almost painful now using tapatalk without the whole screen!

5. nepalisherpa macrumors 68020

nepalisherpa

You need to give devs some time. Making iPhone 5 compatible not only means extra code, but, new graphics as well. That takes time. Plus, Apple's approval process takes time as well. Just be patient.

6. zeyank macrumors member

Hey guys, I'm a developer, so I thought I would offer up a bit of insight.

It takes time. Depending on the complexity of the application, this could take anywhere from a day to a few weeks (or more) of programming and testing. If the applications have custom graphics, the developer might have to hire graphics artists to provide new (larger) images. This takes time.