Did I screw up? Wiped iPhone but need to stay on 4.3.3

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Geckotek, Oct 15, 2011.

  1. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    Ok, trying to stay on iOS 4.3.3 to keep the jailbreak for the buyer. I just wiped all contents and settings. Haven't done this in so long I've forgotten what the results are.

    When it finishes will I have a blank iOS 4.3.3 that just needs to be activated or will it need a restore of the OS? Will I be able to put 4.3.3 back on?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Dude, you're disappointing me:D
    You know better not to do an erase all on a JB iphone.
    Now its stuck on recovery mode and will need to be restored.
    You got shsh blobs for 4.3.3?
     
  3. Geckotek thread starter macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    Yes, I know. :eek:. I got in a hurry and wasn't thinking.

    Nope. No blobs.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Lol :D
    That sucks bro.
    You're sure you never saved any? Run TU anyway to check.
     
  5. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #5
    Dude that sucks we all have those dumb moments. ;) double check TU and prey. good luck!
     
  6. Geckotek thread starter macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Yeah, I only JB'd to run the Gevey program. Wasn't really concerned about it at the time.

    So it's going to come back up with no OS right? :(

    I can still restore from backup right?
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Yes, you can still load 4.3.5 I believe since Apple is still signing it for now or you can restore and update to 5.0
    Your backup is still there if you choose to restore using that or setting up as new phone.
     
  8. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #8
    Everyone makes mistake but this is big base on the position you held in this forum.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    That's it, he's getting a pay cut:D
     
  10. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #10
    Demote him! Can I apply for his replacement....:D:D
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  12. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #12
    Btw, do you still have that 01.59 phone? I saw your post on that thread. I have shot you a message but did not hear back from you.
     
  13. Geckotek thread starter macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    Does that mean I get to pay less for my renewal? :p

    Yeah, I really should have known better. But I've been out of the JB scene for a bit.
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Sorry bro, it sold quick to a bro from this forum.
    Thank you though.
     
  15. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
  16. nwlondonlad macrumors 6502a

    nwlondonlad

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    UK London
    #16
    Just out of curiosity whats the best process that the OP should have done to wipe his data before selling?

    Restore in itunes i guess?
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Yes, but without shsh blobs when you do a restore you're forced to update to the latest firmware.
    So either way he was SOL without them.
     
  18. nwlondonlad macrumors 6502a

    nwlondonlad

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    UK London
    #18
    Thanks, what if you do a restore then turn your wifi off. Surely itunes then can't make you update to the latest version as there is no internet available to determine what the latest version is as well as download it????
     
  19. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #19
    You cannot do a restore without an internet connection. It needs to check and verify with Apples servers before it lets you.
    Trust me if it was that easy we wouldnt need shsh blobs at all, we would all just unplug the internet wire:D
     
  20. nwlondonlad macrumors 6502a

    nwlondonlad

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    UK London
    #20
    lol Cheers yeah i figured there was more to it. Im on 4.3.3 and planning on selling my 4 tomorrow. The buyer didn't ask if it was jailbroken so should not be a problem.

    I would still like for it to remain on 4.3.3 in case the deal falls through. I have my blobs saved from Cydia (sshs: 4.3.3, 4.3.5) Is there anything special i need to do during the restore process to prevent it from going to 5.0?

    Or is it that it will take me straight to ios 5 but then i can revert back to 4.3.3?
     
  21. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #21
    You need to download 4.3.3 and shift/option and click restore on itunes so you can select that instead of going up to 5.0
    And use Tinyumbrella start TSS server running in the back so it verifies the restore and lets you proceed on installing that version.
     
  22. nwlondonlad macrumors 6502a

    nwlondonlad

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    UK London
    #22
    Cheers, I've downloaded tiny Umbrella and will give it a shot tonight.
    Just one last question, if i do mess it up and find myself on ios5, I take it i can downgrade back to 4.3.3 (blobs saved) using the same method. :)
     
  23. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #23
    Yes, you can downgrade with the available blobs you have at any time.
     
  24. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #24
    but if you some how mess up with OS5, then even you go down to 4.3.3, your baseband still can't be downgrade and it will be remain at 04.11.
     
  25. nwlondonlad macrumors 6502a

    nwlondonlad

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    UK London
    #25
    My iphone is sim free so this shouldn't be a problem. Think baseband issues comes into play if you jailbreak and unlock.
     

Share This Page