did u install the imac efi firmware update 1.6 for the 2011 iMacs?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Benz63amg, May 11, 2011.

  1. Benz63amg macrumors 68000

    Benz63amg

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    #1
    as the title says, did u guys install the update? i didnt as its a risky update and besides it doesnt seem to do anything i would use ? ( it says it fixed and improves thunderbolt or something..)
     
  2. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    Sure did. I install all updates whenever they are available.
     
  3. Benz63amg thread starter macrumors 68000

    Benz63amg

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    #3
    did u notice any improvements? basically it only fixes something with thunderbolt right?
     
  4. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    No, it fixes a variety of things. It's documented on apples site.

    I didn't notice anything different. But there is no reason not to install it.
     
  5. Dresevski macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesnowda
    #5
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't this the recent update that "unlocked" SATA III for us? That is a pretty big deal and something many were complaining about immediately after the refresh.

    Now we can install those super new, super fast SSD's and reap all of the benefits!!!
     
  6. MGLXP macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
  7. Georgio macrumors 6502

    Georgio

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    #7
    I installed it as it was in software update etc.
    I understand that it's supposed to enable SATA 3 theorectically doubling throughput to 6GB/s.
    However I notice in the profiler under Sata that it says:

    Link Speed: 6 Gigabit
    Negotiated Link Speed: 3 Gigabit

    So what is this negotiated link speed?
    Surely the two values should be the same i.e. 6 Gigabit for both.
    This sounds like it 'should' be 6 GB/s but that the controller and HD have had a meeting and decided that was way too fast so negotiated 3 GB/s as a compromise...

    Joking aside is everyone else's the same?
     
  8. Monkeyoe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #8
    The hard drive is SATA II I believe, so the negotiated link speed will be the same as that. Doesn't matter really, as a hard drive is incapable of saturating SATA II.
     
  9. Georgio macrumors 6502

    Georgio

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    #9
    So has the data transfer actually been changed between the HD and controller or is the 6GB transfer rate for thunderbolt only?

     
  10. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #10
    The data transfer is always limited by the weakest link. Your HDD is SATA2 - so the SATA3 controller will work in the SATA2 mode. If you had one of the latest SATA3 SDD in there, you would see the negotiated speed of 6GB. So don't worry, everything is working fine.
     
  11. Monkeyoe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #11
    Nah. The hard drive is connected at the fastest speed that it can be connected at (SATA II). If you replace the hard drive with an SSD that is SATA III compatible, it will run at SATA III speeds. Not too sure about Thunderbolt. I think it's a 4x PCI-E connection combined with a mini displayport connection.
     
  12. admanimal macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #12
    My BTO 27" came with the latest firmware already installed.
     
  13. scottdot macrumors member

    scottdot

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #13
    My 27" also did not prompt me for the upgrade, so I'm assuming it has the new firmware as well. No SSD in my config.
     

Share This Page