Resolved Difference on service between Net10 & ST?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jackwills, Mar 4, 2013.

  1. jackwills, Mar 4, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2013

    jackwills macrumors regular

    jackwills

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #1
    Net10 $50 more dollars for the unlimited everything plan
    Straighttalk $45

    Trying to get the ST AT&T sim but they ran out of it at this time, deciding weather not give Net10 a try for 5 more dollars, cause Net10's AT&T sims are available right now
    For unlocked iPhone 5 (Prefer AT&T sim)
    Have been using ST service before, happy with it, wondering is there any difference between their serivce
    Net10 uses AT&T towers too?
     
  2. Kevin813 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    #2
    Have you tried going to settings -> carrier , and turning automatic off? You'll hafta wait like 2 minutes, then it will show you a list of all available gsm towers in the area. Then click t-mobile when it pops up.
     
  3. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #3
    It's probably roaming on AT&T. AT&T and Tmobile have roaming agreements in many areas.
     
  4. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #4
    Yep. The status bar shows what network it is connected to, not where you send a check.
     
  5. bozzykid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #5
    And data usually doesn't roam. So it is really only roaming for voice and sms.
     
  6. jackwills thread starter macrumors regular

    jackwills

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #6
    Yep when connected to AT&T data dont work, not even 2G, and most of the time it connects to AT&T
    They said cause of the 2G network(iPhone can only get 2G network on T-mobile) in my area is too weak so I can only connect to AT&T towers to at least get voice and text
    Why do I need an iPhone 5 if no data activated?
    iPhone users stay away from T-mobile monthly 4G prepaid plans!
    Screw you T-Mobile
     
  7. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #7
    That's more a problem with coverage in your area, but yeah, definitively "Screw you, T-Mobile". Even though they announced on December 20th, 2012 that New York has iPhone-friendly 4G.
    Looks like you'll have to go back to StraightTalk. Or move to the Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens or Staten Island.
     
  8. jackwills thread starter macrumors regular

    jackwills

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #8
    Yep definitely switching back to ST or try Net10, cause the AT&T ST sim are not available at the time. Please help with my concerns if u have any idea!
     
  9. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #9
  10. corvus32 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    lol 70-100 bucks for an AT&T ST sim card?

    You can get a three pack of Net10 ones for $15 at your local Bestbuy.
     

Share This Page