Do any of the older iMacs support more than 4GB of RAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by TheArgonaut, May 14, 2011.

  1. TheArgonaut macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    #1
    Hi folks. Looking to buy a used iMac possibly but want to have more than 4GB of RAM in it. Which models support this either by default or via some kind of firmware update like the mini. THanks.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  3. TheArgonaut thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    #3
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Yes, it will. Just click on the models you are interested in and check the "RAM" part.
     
  5. gcthompson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #5
    I had 6Gb in my 2008 iMac for a while, worked flawlessly...
     
  6. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #6
    Is there some reason you think you need more than 4 gigs of ram?

    Whats your budget?
     

Share This Page