Carrier Do AT&T nano-SIMs work on iPad Cellular models or is the Apple SIM slot non standard?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by iphone5att64, Nov 12, 2015.

  1. iphone5att64 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #1
    Can I get a standard nano-SIM from AT&T and use it in new iPad Cellular models or is the Apple SIM required? I want to use the SIM in other devices as well as the iPad.
     
  2. Aibocyrus macrumors 6502

    Aibocyrus

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    #2
    You can go into any AT&T and pick up a nano. I just activated an iPad pro with one yesterday evening. Works perfectly fine =]. There's no charge for a sim either. Just make sure the line is already created for the iPad, or have the account holder go in with you as only account holders can activate any new lines of service. Authorized users don't have this permission.
     
  3. rickshill macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #3
    You cannot use your cell phone sim in the iPad..even if it is the same size they use different APN profiles...you can only use a sim provisioned for a hotspot or another tablet...not a phone
     
  4. Aibocyrus macrumors 6502

    Aibocyrus

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    #4
    They will know that when he goes in lol
     
  5. Lobwedgephil macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    #5
    Normal tablet At&t sim works fine, I switched mine from Air to the Pro with no issues.
     
  6. iphone5att64 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #6
    I was asking about iPad data nano-SIMs, but thanks for clarifying. I'll have to specify to AT&T that it's for an iPad.
     
  7. pika2000 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #7
    If I remember correctly from my experience with AT&T few years ago, once you sign up for a plan on the iPad, you can use the SIM on any other devices, including phones (thus giving you a phone with data only connectivity). The only catch is that to renew the plan, you have to do it on the iPad.
     
  8. JT2002TJ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    #8
    You can use any of the sims on anything... But... FYI, I had an ipad (data only) sim I ran for a month on an iphone 4 that I use for a GPS on my motorcycle (I do not want calls, it is only for the gps maps), and they switched it to a phone. The system was smart enough to realize it.

    It is sad, I just want a GPS, but have to pay for a phone line I never use.
     
  9. pika2000 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #9
    Wow, how can AT&T do that? Did you do the prepaid iPad plans that you can subscribe from the iPad itself? That kinda sucks if AT&T can magically change the prepaid plan that you already pay for.
    I know T-Mobile simply block the device type.
     
  10. JT2002TJ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    #10

    It isn't a pre-pay plan. I simply added a new device to my family share plan. I used an iPad IMEI, but used my iphone. It worked for a bit, then it simply switched over to a phone plan. I tried... They won.
     
  11. pika2000 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #11
    Ah okay. Try the prepaid route then. The last time I tried it, I can use the SIM on any devices. The only catch is it can only be renewed on the iPad. Hopefully it has not changed.
     

Share This Page