Do I have to pull the Disk Utility trick if I install a 500Gb drive in a MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AVR2, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. AVR2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #1
    I'm getting ready to upgrade my MBP 2.16 with a 500Gb drive. I know that if you want to use a 1TB external drive you have to pull a little trick in Disk Utility to get the Mac to recognise the full 1TB, I just wondered if you have to do the same thing with a 500Gb internal drive?
     
  2. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    What trick? You never need to pull a trick to get it to recognize the full value of a drive.*

    *There was a time 8 years ago when some controllers couldn't recognize >128GB but this was a hardware limit, not a software one and hasn't been an issue in many many years.
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  4. AVR2 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #4
    I was misremembering - there's actually a known issue with Leopard which can cause problems when you try to format a drive 500Gb or larger - OS X will let you format it as FAT32 (or NTFS, if you have a driver for it) but not HFS+.

    The Apple Knowledgebase solution is here, and I guess I may be affected by it. Essentially, you have to partition the disk, not simply erase it.
     
  5. iBecks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #5
    It would seem that you have your answer.

    Thanks for the info, I'll be looking at installing a 500GB drive in my MBP in the near future and may well need to know this.
     

Share This Page