do you have to jailbreak to unlock 3g using ultrasnow

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by rakester, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. rakester, Jun 23, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2013
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    do you have to jailbreak to unlock 3g using ultrasnow
    YES
     
  3. rakester, Jun 23, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2013

    rakester thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    I am not a techie, but if you restore after JB and UL, the Apple software is likely gonna write over the unlock codes just as it does the JB codes.

    I don't see what all the fuss is over "I want unlock but not jailbreak" (others have asked this also)

    Since unlock requires a JB, just don't mod the phone. All you need for Ultrasn0w is Cydia, so just JB, then use Cydia to unlock.

    A single Cydia icon can be put out of sight on your back page of apps.
     
  5. jeromekenb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Qatar
    #5
    do you have to jailbreak to unlock 3g using ultrasnow

    Yes you need to JB first before you can unlock your iPhone 3G.

    I found one tutorial http://igreatminds.blogspot.com/ on how to jailbreak/unlock your iPhone 3G. and it works for me very useful.
     
  6. benflick macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #6
    Although this works on the 2G, the 3G is different. Yellow/Ultrasn0w inject their code upon startup. The Dev Team makes it a startup command. Technically, when your phone is just turned off it's not unlocked, although this sounds weird.
     

Share This Page